The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved the icing, but the cake was not great. I felt that after 20 minutes it still looked raw, so I left it in a bit longer. When I served it, it had flattened and taken on a really dense brownie texture. I thought I followed the directions exactly, but the rest of the reviews are very positive, so perhaps I didn't leave it in long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
literally, this is THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I EVER ATE, but I did make a few adjustments.. I substituted a second stick of butter for the oil, reduced the cinnamon to 1/4tsp, and upped the vanilla to a full tablespoon. Instead of making the frosting, I topped it with original cool whip, and served the cake chilled. It was gone in a snap. I definitely recommend this cake to anyone that is looking for a good chocolate cake-however, you may find yourself addicted to it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Really good, i enjoyed the light cinnamon flavor. The only thing that i did not like about this cake was the texture. It was moist and yummie just not like the normal cake i am used too. When my husband came home from work and looked at the cake he said its not a cake its a brownie! The frosting was really rich, and used way too much butter, is acutually pooled on top of the cake. I will make again as my husband liked it so much he took half of it to work the next day. (It says a lot since he dislikes cocolate.) The bake time on thes is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this for the first time ever for a work party and everyone loved it! What a relief! I followed some of the recommendations like leaving out the cinnamon and poking the cake with a fork after it had finished baking. Like other comments, this cake took about 10 more minutes (30 minutes total) to be done. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This really is the best chocolate cake you ever ate. I didnt have buttermilk in the fridge so you can just take 1/2 tbsp on white vinegar and 1/2 cup of milk and let it sit for 5 mins, does the same thing. This cake was a hit and is now my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Love this cake have made it a few times pecans make this cake. Chocolate n pecans perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Great recipe, although I made a few changes: I left out the cinnamon, added 1 cup more of cocoa, 1 tbsp baking powder, and used soy milk instead of buttermilk. This is a very rich and light cake. Next time, I will probably cut the sugar down to 1cup and a bit because I like cake less sweet than the frosting. I'll also make buttercream next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This cake was so good. I skipped the cinnamon and used all butter instead of oil in the cake mix. It was really a good cake. Extremely moist and the icing was so yummy. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I make this recipe 100% organic and it never even lasts a full day around my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I've been looking for a rich moist chocolate taste cupcake recipe. This cupcake taste like cinnamon all the way!... its good when its hot and fresh and spongy...after a couple of hours, the nice round shape goes down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States