The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever made. It is light and fluffy, just like cake mix. I made two round layers and used my own icing instead of the icing recipe provided. Yummm, definitely making it into the recipe box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved the icing, but the cake was not great. I felt that after 20 minutes it still looked raw, so I left it in a bit longer. When I served it, it had flattened and taken on a really dense brownie texture. I thought I followed the directions exactly, but the rest of the reviews are very positive, so perhaps I didn't leave it in long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
literally, this is THE BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE I EVER ATE, but I did make a few adjustments.. I substituted a second stick of butter for the oil, reduced the cinnamon to 1/4tsp, and upped the vanilla to a full tablespoon. Instead of making the frosting, I topped it with original cool whip, and served the cake chilled. It was gone in a snap. I definitely recommend this cake to anyone that is looking for a good chocolate cake-however, you may find yourself addicted to it ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Really good, i enjoyed the light cinnamon flavor. The only thing that i did not like about this cake was the texture. It was moist and yummie just not like the normal cake i am used too. When my husband came home from work and looked at the cake he said its not a cake its a brownie! The frosting was really rich, and used way too much butter, is acutually pooled on top of the cake. I will make again as my husband liked it so much he took half of it to work the next day. (It says a lot since he dislikes cocolate.) The bake time on thes is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this for the first time ever for a work party and everyone loved it! What a relief! I followed some of the recommendations like leaving out the cinnamon and poking the cake with a fork after it had finished baking. Like other comments, this cake took about 10 more minutes (30 minutes total) to be done. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This really is the best chocolate cake you ever ate. I didnt have buttermilk in the fridge so you can just take 1/2 tbsp on white vinegar and 1/2 cup of milk and let it sit for 5 mins, does the same thing. This cake was a hit and is now my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Love this cake have made it a few times pecans make this cake. Chocolate n pecans perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Great recipe, although I made a few changes: I left out the cinnamon, added 1 cup more of cocoa, 1 tbsp baking powder, and used soy milk instead of buttermilk. This is a very rich and light cake. Next time, I will probably cut the sugar down to 1cup and a bit because I like cake less sweet than the frosting. I'll also make buttercream next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This cake was so good. I skipped the cinnamon and used all butter instead of oil in the cake mix. It was really a good cake. Extremely moist and the icing was so yummy. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I make this recipe 100% organic and it never even lasts a full day around my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States