The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I baked this cake last night...the recipe was very easy to follow and make. I'd never made cooked frosting but it came out so smooth and was easy to pour on the cake. I will definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Loved this cake! I used 1/3 cup cocoa powder in the cake, and cut the amount of powdered sugar in the frosting by at least 1/2 cup. Also, used all butter in the cake, and didn't add the cinnamon. Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Yep, they got it right - took this to a friend's birthday and was invited back for Thanksgiving dinner the next week, but only if I brought another cake! Very moist and turned out great even at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This got rave reviews from my family. They found it very fudgy and the crumb very moist. I thought the frosting was too sweet, but solved the problem with cutting a smaller slice the second time around! Thanks, it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is really the best chocolate cake ever! Although I made just one change, which is cut down the amount of sugar to half, it os great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Home Town: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
OMG! ok this is the 1 i like! ty 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It's a good recipe but i wish I'd read some more the reviews before I made it. The cinnamon is completely overpowering and chocolate light. If I make this again it will be with 1/2 the cinnamon and twice the cocoa. I also had to bake it 30 minutes so the middle didn't pour out. I doubled the cocoa in the frosting to make up for the cake and it tasted sweet and weak without it but it was good. Slightly warming the frosting (I just stuck the metal mixing bowl in the cooling down oven for a bit) made it pour nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
this cake is absolutely great,i made it and i couldn't believe my eyes,this is really good my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This cake was so soft and moist! Made it for my daughter's birthday and everyone loved it. I used chocolate cream cheese frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Good cake, not great though - not a very chocolatey taste for chocolate cake. The frosting is good but 4 cups of icing sugar is WAY too much for the amount of liquid in the recipe. Try cutting the icing sugar back to 3 cups instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States