The Best Chocolate Cake You Ever Ate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Yep, they got it right - took this to a friend's birthday and was invited back for Thanksgiving dinner the next week, but only if I brought another cake! Very moist and turned out great even at high altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This got rave reviews from my family. They found it very fudgy and the crumb very moist. I thought the frosting was too sweet, but solved the problem with cutting a smaller slice the second time around! Thanks, it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This is really the best chocolate cake ever! Although I made just one change, which is cut down the amount of sugar to half, it os great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Home Town: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
OMG! ok this is the 1 i like! ty 4 sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
It's a good recipe but i wish I'd read some more the reviews before I made it. The cinnamon is completely overpowering and chocolate light. If I make this again it will be with 1/2 the cinnamon and twice the cocoa. I also had to bake it 30 minutes so the middle didn't pour out. I doubled the cocoa in the frosting to make up for the cake and it tasted sweet and weak without it but it was good. Slightly warming the frosting (I just stuck the metal mixing bowl in the cooling down oven for a bit) made it pour nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
this cake is absolutely great,i made it and i couldn't believe my eyes,this is really good my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This cake was so soft and moist! Made it for my daughter's birthday and everyone loved it. I used chocolate cream cheese frosting instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Good cake, not great though - not a very chocolatey taste for chocolate cake. The frosting is good but 4 cups of icing sugar is WAY too much for the amount of liquid in the recipe. Try cutting the icing sugar back to 3 cups instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This cake probably would have been much better if I didn't skip the 1 cup of water! But surprisingly the cake was still edible. The glaze style frosting was very good. I will try this again (with the addition of water next time!), and I would probably omit the cinnamon, as I didn't care for it in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this when I had a sudden chocolate cake craving, I halved this recipe and poured the frosting while it was hot. This is a great recipe I will definitely be saving this one, love the pecans in the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingwgreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States