The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Maryann Tysinger
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
My family just loved this. I boiled the whole chicken, like the instructions state but I always have to add extra spices- I'm so bad about not measuring spices but I added black grinder peppercorn, ground red pepper, garlic powder, parsley, Ms. Dash (garlic), some more garlic powder, nutmeg, garlic powder, salt, garlic powder, thyme, garlic powder, bay leaves, garlic powder, rubbed sage and garlic powder. I didn't have celery so instead I added added 3 potatoes, with skin, clubbed, a head of broccoli, cauliflower, big bag of baby carrots and fresh spinach leaves (add spinach leaves when soup is just about done). This was just AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious! What homemade chicken soup isn't???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Love this! It was not "easy" but worth the effort. I didn't add carrots because I didn't have any and did not add the pasta but it still turned out incredibly flavorable. We'll have leftovers tonight (can't wait!) and I may add some shredded cabbage to it - just because I like it. Would be wonderful with dumplings, too! I'll do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I have recently started making homemade soups and followed all the directions. This is now a family favorite. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgvincent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I have had the distinct pleasure of eating gram's soup as the author of this recipe (CarrieK) and I are childhood best friends and I have to say that it's just as good as I remember (if not better with the added doctoring up)!!! Best chicken soup, ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I've made this soup twice and the only thing I changed was adding some fresh cloves of garlic to it. Kudos to you CARRIEK! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishbrat38
Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Love this recipe. Have made it many times and it always gets good reviews. Have learned over time to go with large chicken - 3 lbs and thus more water to start off with. Fill the pot until the chicken is completely submerged. Also later on when simmering I cover the pot as you lose too much liquid to evaporation otherwise. Lastly try to buy the small bow ties (if you have the option) so they don't overwhelm the soup. It really is fabulous - I rarely see anyone adding salt or pepper at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Crazy good. I made a few modifications: - My husband likes egg drop soup, so right before serving, I let the soup get to a rolling boil and slowly poured the mixture of 4 eggs into it. - Rosemary is a great substitute for any of the spices below that you don't happen to have. - My husband has comforting memories of his mother using Lipton Noodle soup, so I used angel hair pasta broken into small pieces for the noodles. It really did have the "look" of that old standby for sick kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was a good base. I ended up adding a few things to the soup ... Plus I used a whole chicken and adding fresh herbs, garlic, onion and mushrooms making a stock out of the liquid. I used a rotini pasta as I had it in my pantry. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious! I had the flu and my son was coming down with a cold. I love soup but my son did not until he tasted this soup! He ate two (2) bowls! " Mom, this is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States