The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I know it's not quite fair to rate a soup that you have not made as the recipe states...but it was an excellent starting point and for someone who have not made CNS from scratch before I needed a starting point. As with almost all recipes, I fixed it a little more to my liking and to what I had on hand. I wouldn't buy a whole chicken simply to boil and make a soup out of. That's what leftovers are for...to make soup. Take a broiled chix...eat it and then boil the carcass in enough water to cover. Shred leftover meat, keep aside. Drain boiled carcass..toss bones, keep broth. Add to broth 2 tbsp chix boullion, 2 cubes beef boullion, sliced carrot, onion, celery and chix. Add the following spices as you see fit: Thyme, basil,parsely, pepper, red pepper flakes (Careful! 1/2 tsp goes a LONG way) noodles of your choice and simmer for 30-40 mins and voila! Easy chix soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have to agree tith the name of this recipe. Very good! I used an extra beef bullion cube and extra garlic to tone down the chicken-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent starter. I added additional two cans of chicken broth. Used about a cup of the liquid that I cooked the chicken in with a crumbled chicken bouillon. Shredded chicken and added a box of frozen peas to the soup. Instead of farfalle I used a cup of try ACINI DI PEPE a very tiny pasta to the last 15 minutes of simmering. THAT'S WHY I NEED THE EXTRA LIQUID.. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I hate to say anything negative about this recipe, I really loved it... BUT it needs a bit of revision! I was going to use the entire 1 pound of baby carrots, but when I started adding them, realized I would wind up with carrot soup with chicken. Amount of carrots needed to be cut WAY back. I used 1/2 and it was still way too much. I wound up scooping lots out after cooking. (And I do like carrots!) Also needs lots more liquid. This boiled down too much. Added almost a quart more broth and water. Needs more liquid, way fewer carrots. I loved the flavor. And don't add any salt!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Despite being married and having three children, I never made chicken soup before. I hadn't even so much as bought a whole chicken. But the kids were sick, and with stroke of genious, it hit...Aha! Make chicken soup! So, off to store we go, sick, crabby, "I don't want to ride in the cart" 2 year old and the baby, secure in the sling. I look for and find some chickens. They look smaller than I thought. I look through all 50 of them, looking for the biggest one. They are all about 3 pounds. So I ask an employee where the regular sizd chickens are, you know, the turkey-sized ones. Well, chickens, as it turns out, are not as big as turkeys, and the employee laughs. Ok, so now I have chicken, and I leave store. I call grandma on the way, asking what to do with it. She tells me to clean it. Ummm....how? She tells me, and I respond, "I stick my hand up WHAT???" That's not somewhere I'd like to touch. Grams reminds me its just a chicken, I can wash my hands later. Ok, big breath. I can do it. I clean and cook chicken. I cool it, bone it (ick) and then make soup. Now, to rate this recipe....its great! I've gotten over my fear of whole chickens, and I'll make it again! I did add garlic, peas, and spinach to boost the nutritional value. I didn't add the chicken soup mix, wanting it to be natural as possible. All in all, great recipe. Thanks for sharing it and helping me get over the hurdle of whole chickens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Dunbar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
All the flavors were wonderful... The only exception was we took out the chicken soup mix... It definitely didnt need it!!! It reminded me of the homemade soup my mother and grandmother made when we were kids and sick... next time i may add spinach for just a little bit more vegetable.. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
The name of this soup is true - it's the best! My family and I love it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda  & Chuck Gray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I think my big mistake with this was to not take the skin off the chicken before boiling it; made for a lot of fat but my mistake. My only other suggestion might be to add the vegetables a little later as they seem kind of overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
All hail the best chicken soup ever! I made a few additions... I used all fresh herbs, and added fresh dill, (a few small sprigs. Also, Shitake Mushrooms are a fantastic addition. This was the PERFECT cure for my boyfriends stomach flu and some very satisfying helpings for me. REALLY looking forward to making this one again. It will become a regular recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
My husband was up all night very ill with a stomach virus. Since he was still a bit queasy, I wanted to make him a healthy chicken soup. This fit the bill. I followed the recipe exactly, with the only exceptions being following other reviewers tips and adding a bit of garlic and spinach. He and I just finished eating it. It really is a delicious soup, although I am glad it makes plenty because I feel sure it will taste better the next day. The only ingredient I wasn't crazy about in this soup was the addition of the chicken noodle soup mix, it seemed I could taste it in every bite. But that is a personal thing because a few years ago I lost 110 pounds and I ate a lot of that stuff, so it is not a taste I like to relive!! Though I didn't really love this soup as I had hoped, it was something I felt really good about serving to my sick hubby. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States