The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Made this twice already. The best chicken soup ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tdaandcsa
Home Town: Berlin Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Excellent! Used what I had on hand (daughter and grandson both have colds with fevers). I used 4 chicken leg quarters, added some mixed veggies--didn't have any pasta so I threw in the macaroni from a boxed mac & cheese. Also used chicken soup base since I didn't have the chicken soup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Delicious! I increased this recipe and used 2 whole chickens and 4 gallons of water. Don't overcook the bowtie pasta as it will swell and get a bit mushy. Used a bit more of the spices. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great soup! i did not add the soup mix and used egg noddles instead of bow tie. used more of the called for spices and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this for my family that was visiting from Fla. Being that is was cold here I thought this would be a good idea never done homemade before. This was a really great recipe with a few changes. I put it all in the crockpot and cooked it all day long,didn't use the soup mix(didn't need it)I used chicken breasts instead of whole chicken(less grease)No noodles.Added more celery less carrots. It was sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Today I woke up with a cold and the urge to cook something from scratch so what better to make than chicken soup - except I'm not a fan chicken noodle soup. Considering that my only experience with chicken noodle soup was from a can, I decided to throw caution to the wind and make this soup. Coming from someone who doesn't like celery or cooked onions, this soup is quite good. The vegetables cooked up nice and soft so they're a non-issue, and combined with the pasta and the chicken, the soup is quite satisfying. If I had it to do again, I think I would use dark meat chicken only as it's wonderfully moist. Oh! And after having a bowl of this soup, my cold feels much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jatnj
Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
AWESOME! JUST WHAT The doctor ordered!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I'm a huge soup lover but this was my first experience making homemade chicken soup. It won't be my last this was perfect! Everyone in my family was sick with a bad cold. So, despite being August and 90 degrees outside I decided a batch of chicken soup is just what we needed! This was also my first try at boiling a whole chicken I boiled mine on low for nearly two hours and it was so yummy! The meat was literally falling off the bone. I also boiled my chicken with a few stalks of celery and an onion. I then used my homemade chicken stock instead of using canned broth. It was delicious! I also added garlic, a chopped onion and a package of cream of spinach. Added a bit of color and nutrients. It was wonderful! Just what we needed. Even my picky three year old enjoyed it. It made enough to feed an army. We ate leftovers for 3 days! I will definitely make this again. Next time I might use egg noodles instead of the bow tie. There were a little large and hard for my kids to spoon. Otherwise perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Pretty Good bowl of soup. I thought the recipe was really good and I make alot of soups. I put much more of the spices than called for, as I thought it would be pretty bland without. I also used little shells instead of bowties. All in all it was a winner. Only 4 stars because of spices. Thanks Carrie for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This soup is awesome. It was my first time to ever use a whole chicken, and I went for a 5.5 pounder and doubled the recipe as I was making it for a few sick friends. I was hesitant to use so much water at the beginning because it just seemed like a TON of broth. In the end, though, it was not as liquidy as I would have liked, and I ended up adding about 6 extra cups of water. I did have to add a LOT more of every spice, or I believe this would have ended up pretty bland. I also did not use the 2 cans of chicken broth since it seemed like so much liquid at that point. Then I was able to add some salt for flavor and not worry too much about sodium content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States