The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
AWESOME! JUST WHAT The doctor ordered!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I'm a huge soup lover but this was my first experience making homemade chicken soup. It won't be my last this was perfect! Everyone in my family was sick with a bad cold. So, despite being August and 90 degrees outside I decided a batch of chicken soup is just what we needed! This was also my first try at boiling a whole chicken I boiled mine on low for nearly two hours and it was so yummy! The meat was literally falling off the bone. I also boiled my chicken with a few stalks of celery and an onion. I then used my homemade chicken stock instead of using canned broth. It was delicious! I also added garlic, a chopped onion and a package of cream of spinach. Added a bit of color and nutrients. It was wonderful! Just what we needed. Even my picky three year old enjoyed it. It made enough to feed an army. We ate leftovers for 3 days! I will definitely make this again. Next time I might use egg noodles instead of the bow tie. There were a little large and hard for my kids to spoon. Otherwise perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Pretty Good bowl of soup. I thought the recipe was really good and I make alot of soups. I put much more of the spices than called for, as I thought it would be pretty bland without. I also used little shells instead of bowties. All in all it was a winner. Only 4 stars because of spices. Thanks Carrie for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This soup is awesome. It was my first time to ever use a whole chicken, and I went for a 5.5 pounder and doubled the recipe as I was making it for a few sick friends. I was hesitant to use so much water at the beginning because it just seemed like a TON of broth. In the end, though, it was not as liquidy as I would have liked, and I ended up adding about 6 extra cups of water. I did have to add a LOT more of every spice, or I believe this would have ended up pretty bland. I also did not use the 2 cans of chicken broth since it seemed like so much liquid at that point. Then I was able to add some salt for flavor and not worry too much about sodium content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I was very excited to try making this homemade soup because of the recipes, but I have to say that I found this recipe bland beyond belief. I followed everything to a "t", but was not impressed with the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I made this recipe with boneless chicken breasts, omitted the soup mix, and exchanged the farfalle for long-grain white rice. Very easy and very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dovie65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This truly is the best chicken soup ever!!! I would give this 10 stars if I could. There is no other chicken soup that could compare to this. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was super! I did put 2 small diced potatoes in it. WE LOVE POTATOES.. So the potatoes didn't take away from the soup at all. Have made this several times, But we are SOUP lovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This soup was excellent! It had a lot of flavor and I only changed a few things: used chicken breasts with bones instead of the whole chicken, used chicken bouillon instead of beef and whole wheat noodles instead of regular farfalle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Wonderful! So ymmu and easy to eat! I would suggest eating the soup after you cook it, without adding salt out of the pot. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States