The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
If you really want to make this the BEST Chicken Soup ever... 1) Make a ton. 5 - 6 lb chicken, and double everything. 2) Don't be shy with the pinches. It needs seasoning. (Like a Marinara...). Plenty of pepper, salt, and a little sweetener too. 3) Nix the Soup Mix. Don't need it. 4) Peppers! Couple Green and a medley of colored sweet. Adds color. 5) Bell Seasoning is critical. 6) Garlic should be added. Regarding the water - it says cover it, that's it. I use Egg Noodles instead of bowties. Looks more like authentic. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
no offense but any chicken soup will taste good with the amount of msg in this recipe. i would like to see the results with a completely msg free base. i will rate again with that review for those who are sensitive to all forms of it....autolyzed yeast extract,yeast extract, maltodextrin, torula yeast, msg, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This soup has become a staple at our house. I substitute a package of Leek soup mix for the chicken noodle soup, but that's it. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This dish was absolutely delicious and easy to prepare! Finally a chicken soup with lots of meat (yum) and not overly salted! My very picky daughter told me it was her second favorite dish (next to mac & cheese of course). I don't like to alter recipes but I did leave out the soup mix, I wanted to keep it as natural and wholesome as possible-- the herbs and spices required for the recipe offer plenty of flavor and saltiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This really is wonderful! It makes a huge amount of soup but my husband and two friends finished it off in less than two days! I didn't use a whole chicken--3lbs. of bone-in half breasts was actually a lot easier and was plenty of meat. This is truly comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this recipe on a cold spring day and it was a great comfort food! I used 4 cubed chicken breasts, covered the meat with water, threw all of the other ingredients in the pot at once and simmered away. I added one xtra bag of chicken soup mix which gave me extra flavor & all the pasta I needed without adding anything extra at the end. I also added lots of garlic and some peas and corn. If you do add more pasta, be sure to cook it separately first to avoid losing all of your tasty broth. I also made fresh bread to go with and it was great for dipping. Like most soups/stews I can hardly wait to see how much better it gets over the next one or two days......can it get any better? This is one for everyone's recipe book. Easy and delicious. No fuss all flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAPS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Can someone tell me how much liquid do I use. This is unclear to me. Also where do I find chicken soup mix, I have no problem finding chicken noodle mix, but not just straight chichen soup mix. thks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for my husband when he was sick, despite not having an appetite...he had three bowls! We are garlic lovers so I always load mine with garlic. I am making it again today! With all of the spices, it makes the house smell wonderful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
A very nice chicken soup, by far the most flavorful and delicious I've made personally. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very delicious soup. We have also tried it with rice instead of the noodles , and it was equally as good. Enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States