The Best Chicken Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This really is wonderful! It makes a huge amount of soup but my husband and two friends finished it off in less than two days! I didn't use a whole chicken--3lbs. of bone-in half breasts was actually a lot easier and was plenty of meat. This is truly comfort food at its best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this recipe on a cold spring day and it was a great comfort food! I used 4 cubed chicken breasts, covered the meat with water, threw all of the other ingredients in the pot at once and simmered away. I added one xtra bag of chicken soup mix which gave me extra flavor & all the pasta I needed without adding anything extra at the end. I also added lots of garlic and some peas and corn. If you do add more pasta, be sure to cook it separately first to avoid losing all of your tasty broth. I also made fresh bread to go with and it was great for dipping. Like most soups/stews I can hardly wait to see how much better it gets over the next one or two days......can it get any better? This is one for everyone's recipe book. Easy and delicious. No fuss all flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAPS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Can someone tell me how much liquid do I use. This is unclear to me. Also where do I find chicken soup mix, I have no problem finding chicken noodle mix, but not just straight chichen soup mix. thks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this for my husband when he was sick, despite not having an appetite...he had three bowls! We are garlic lovers so I always load mine with garlic. I am making it again today! With all of the spices, it makes the house smell wonderful as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
A very nice chicken soup, by far the most flavorful and delicious I've made personally. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Very delicious soup. We have also tried it with rice instead of the noodles , and it was equally as good. Enjoyed by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This was FANTATIC! I used chicken breasts since we are white meat eaters. I used 32 ounces of chicken stock instead of broth for more flavors and less salt. I've made it twice and just can't force myself to put the packet of chicken soup mix in it. We like diced potatoes and corn in our soup so I addes about 4 small potaotes and 1 cup of corn. Both times, this was the best chicken soup I've ever made. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lawton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I know it's not quite fair to rate a soup that you have not made as the recipe states...but it was an excellent starting point and for someone who have not made CNS from scratch before I needed a starting point. As with almost all recipes, I fixed it a little more to my liking and to what I had on hand. I wouldn't buy a whole chicken simply to boil and make a soup out of. That's what leftovers are for...to make soup. Take a broiled chix...eat it and then boil the carcass in enough water to cover. Shred leftover meat, keep aside. Drain boiled carcass..toss bones, keep broth. Add to broth 2 tbsp chix boullion, 2 cubes beef boullion, sliced carrot, onion, celery and chix. Add the following spices as you see fit: Thyme, basil,parsely, pepper, red pepper flakes (Careful! 1/2 tsp goes a LONG way) noodles of your choice and simmer for 30-40 mins and voila! Easy chix soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I have to agree tith the name of this recipe. Very good! I used an extra beef bullion cube and extra garlic to tone down the chicken-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Excellent starter. I added additional two cans of chicken broth. Used about a cup of the liquid that I cooked the chicken in with a crumbled chicken bouillon. Shredded chicken and added a box of frozen peas to the soup. Instead of farfalle I used a cup of try ACINI DI PEPE a very tiny pasta to the last 15 minutes of simmering. THAT'S WHY I NEED THE EXTRA LIQUID.. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States