The Best Chicken Salad Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I am not sure on this yet. I think the way you prepare the chicken and the brand of cole slaw dressing make a big difference in this. I boiled/poached some chicken breasts to make this, so there was not much flavor to my chicken. I used regular marzetti's coleslaw dressing. Although this was a decent chicken salad, there wasn't much flavor beyond the expected onion/celery flavor. It seemed kind of ordinary to me. I will try a couple of things next time. First, I will cook my chicken with some salt and maybe a bay leaf to give some extra flavor to the chicken. Next, I will try another coleslaw dressing or maybe add a little more for more oomph. Also, I really like cranberries in my chicken salad, so I will add a handful to give a little extra sweetness. Overall, it was a very basic chicken salad, not much different than if you made with mayo and a little sugar like I usually do. *Update* I made this with diced grapes and increased the dressing and mayo to taste and I really liked it. 4 stars with my modifications, 3 stars without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Had all the stuff but the salad dressing. Substituted mayo, horseradish sauce and sweet pickle relish. YYUUUMMMM!! Blender on the fritz. Used the food chopper. Had to push away from the table it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was a good recipe. It didn't "wow" me - it just seemed like all the other chicken salad recipes missing an "it" factor. I did use the low fat mayo and fat free slaw dressing. Perhaps the lack of fat is why I wasn't won over? I will make this again as it is easy, until I find "the" recipe that I am looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Wonderful flavor. The coleslaw dressing was a great addition adding a tangy sweetness. I boiled the chicken in chicken broth, (didn't use the food processor) added grapes and pecans used soft bread and everyone just loved. This is will be my go to chicken salad recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I had never considered my beautiful cuisinart processor for making chicken salad ! Great thing to do. But overprocessing results in a "paste" pretty quickly, so I used the pulse just enough to cut up all the chunks without overdoing it. I had a bunch of fresh parsley, some red and white onions, celery of course, the dressings you describe( miracle whip and Marzetti's) in generous proportions. Also used kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, dash of smoked paprika. I added in two hard boiled eggs, I really feel that added to the rich taste of the salad. After processing, added chopped ( by hand)green grapes and toasted pecans.Awesome !This is a good recipe that I felt needed enhancement to make it great and I succeeded in doing so. Thank you! It's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
So good and so easy! Like others who have reviewed this recipe I won't bother buying chicken salad again. I used ranch for the creamy dressing and its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It really IS the best chicken salad ever! I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
For those that are skeptical on putting it in the food processor: It doesn't have to look like baby food or pate. You don't have to puree the ingredients, just pulse or put on low until it looks right to you. I have tried this exact recipe with and without the food processor using the exact same ingredients and it does change the taste when you process the ingredients, almost as if it married up all the flavors with bits of crunch. I liked it better that way. I am leaving mine in the fridge overnight to marry up the flavor some more for lunch tomorrow. You gotta try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARLYBARBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
The best. Easy, yummy. I use water chestnuts chopped up instead of celery, i hate onions so used onion powder and garlic powder, pulled rotisserie chicken, and add some cayenne. Mmmm. Has become a staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I am reviewing as I devour the chicken salad for lunch. It was delicious and easy, I was able to make it after coming home at 8:30 after an exhausting day. I chopped everything by hand because I like my chicken salad chunky. I used mayo instead of the dressing, no celery, and red onion because thats what I like. I also chopped up two strawberries, cherries, and one dill pickle spear into the salad. Let it marinate for an hour and enjoy it sprinkled with some Parmesan cheese. This is definitely a go to recipe during the summer months when it is painful to turn on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States