The Best Chicken Salad Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This is THE chicken salad recipe I was looking for without all that extra nonsense. Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
this was absolutely amazing. I had never made chicken salad before and it was a hit in my house. I added some chopped walnuts and diced apples for some texture but the straight recipe was delicious the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
We enjoyed this salad for sandwiches. I used canned chicken. Also skipped the cole slaw dressing. For the creamy salad dressing, I used mayo, ranch and a trader joe cilantro dressing. Added cashews and granulated garlic and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valencia, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I think this would be better with tuna. Tastes a lot like tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
My package had 6 chicken breasts so I tripled the recipe, making 1 batch at a time. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, thought it had a bit too much onion for me wanted a chunkier recipe. I made the dressing only for the second batch - omitting the onion but adding a jalapeno and 3T fresh parsley then added the chicken chunks after the dressing was blended. For the third batch I made the dressing with a lesser amount of onion and added chicken chunks after blending. I tossed all three batches together and aside from having a green chicken salad (due to the parsley) it was perfect. This recipe makes a very good chicken salad that lends itself to personalizing to taste preferences. Absolutely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This was the first time I ever made chicken salad and I was so pleased with the results. I could have eaten it all up before I served it to my guests! Personally, though, it was drier than I would have liked once I made my sandwich. So I spread a little more Miracle Whip on my bread and it was perfect. This is now my offical recipe for life! Although, I'm not so sure that I will need to have the coleslaw dressing in the furture. Miracle Whip adds the same sort of flavor as the Kraft dressing I bought. I can add some more spices (like curry or dill or garlic) myself. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
YUM! Finding a chicken salad recipe as versatile as this is great. In its original form, it is great for sandwiches (although I too used mayo instead of "salad dressing"). I also experimented with using some and making a chicken pasta salad. To the spread I added: 1/2 green and 1/2 red bell peppers, wasabi mayo for creamy salad dressing, 1/2-3/4 cup finely shredded cheese and added this to cooked rotini pasta. Was this ever good! There is something about the coleslaw dressing that gives it such a great "sweet twang". Thanks so much, Richard, for sharing this great recipe with so many possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
Rave reviews all around! I am not much of a "salad" kind of person, and I think this one ROCKS! It is very important to blend everything as the recipe instructs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I used mayo because I'm not a fan of miracle whip and added sour cream and toasted almonds. Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Point, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
DEEEE-LISH! I was wary about trying out a chicken salad recipe, but am very very pleased with how it turned out! I used Helman's Mayonnaise for the "creamy salad dressing" (ecch! I do not like Miracle Whip so that wasn't an option), and I used one can of "premium white chicken breast chunks" in place of the chicken breast halves and everything else I followed to a T; this worked out perfectly. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States