The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My middle son loves chicken fried steak and so do I. He came back for seconds with this recipe. I had to change it a little. Because I'm in the Denver area, frying can be a problem - things get overdone on the outside while undercooked inside. So as soon as the outsides were done, I put them in the oven like shake-and-bake for about 1/2 hour. Also, IMHO, a touch of garlic immensely improves country gravy, so I added garlic powder to the gravy. I also couldn't find uncultured buttermilk, but regular milk worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Truly the best chicken fried steak I've ever eaten. Chicken fried steak has always been a diner favorite of mine, but never cooked it at home. Followed the recipe exactly and was rewarded with a crispy, non-greasy, delicious coating on our cube steaks. I served it with collard greens and "irish champ" , an allrecipes recipe. Both my boyfriend and I loved it and will certainly serve it again. Thanks smylpurty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakeffect

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe was great. I will use it from now on. I added more seasonings to the buttermilk mixture because we like more flavor. I used the rest of the buttermilk to make buscuits from this site. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I gave this a 4-Star rating because of the use of the cube steak..and the ingredients..I read the other Chicken Fried Steak-recipes and thought that they were not as good(looking)..I tried to make this recipe from just hearing its title-name/and mine came out quite weird looking/will try this recipe..thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Yummm! I made the Chicken Fried Steak for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimber Mc
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was AWESOME! The coating on the steaks had wonderful flavor, and crisped up perfectly! I used fresh turkey cube steaks that I get from my local farmers market, and we didn't miss the beef at all. Other then stirring a little hot sauce into the gravy at the end, I followed the recipe as written. Served with mashed potatoes and applesauce, this is a new fave! Thank you for this great addition to my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have made Chicken Fried Steak for years and am always looking for the ultimate coating. I think I have found it in this recipe! I, sadly, didn't have all the ingredients, no buttermilk or hot sauce, but used whole milk and it worked just fine. Crisped up perfectly. My family raved that it is the best I have ever made and it was "almost as good as Cracker Barrel's." Hopefully with all the ingredients, it will surpass it next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was my first time cooking chicken fried steak and it was very easy to follow. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I have been in search of the perfect chicken fried steak, and this, without a doubt, is it! The Tabasco sauce adds just a little zip, but not so much that my 3 and 6 year old wouldn't eat it. They loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was a really good recipe. I didn't add as much Tabasco sauce. Couldn't really picture that much in the mixture. So I just added a few splashes. I also added a little bit of coarse ground black pepper to my flour mixture, just to season the flour a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States