The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This recipe is awesome! My family loved it. To fix the buttermilk dilemma some reviews have mentioned, try this: to make substitute buttermilk, add 1-3/4 tablespoons of cream of tartar to a cup of milk, or add a tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar to a cup of milk and let it stand for 5 to 10 minutes. In many baking recipes, you can also just use plain yogurt or sour cream instead of buttermilk. I use the vinegar method but the rest are good to know. I never buy buttermilk anymore because I never use the whole carton. Buttermilk is one of those where I could have it for weeks then not need it, as soon as it goes bad I need it. This is handy to keep in your box for any recipe calling for buttermilk, when in a pinch use a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
983 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Yum! I recommend salt and peppering the meat before dipping it in the flour and buttermilk mixture. Otherwise, the meat itself tastes bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDKITCHEN2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I have made Chicken Fried Steak for years and am always looking for the ultimate coating. I think I have found it in this recipe! I, sadly, didn't have all the ingredients, no buttermilk or hot sauce, but used whole milk and it worked just fine. Crisped up perfectly. My family raved that it is the best I have ever made and it was "almost as good as Cracker Barrel's." Hopefully with all the ingredients, it will surpass it next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimber Mc
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight, and it was AWESOME! The coating on the steaks had wonderful flavor, and crisped up perfectly! I used fresh turkey cube steaks that I get from my local farmers market, and we didn't miss the beef at all. Other then stirring a little hot sauce into the gravy at the end, I followed the recipe as written. Served with mashed potatoes and applesauce, this is a new fave! Thank you for this great addition to my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is my full proof recipe for Chicken fried steak,it's my husbands FAVORITE meal and whenever I make it for him or anyone else I get compliments throughtout the night. The hot sauce doesn't make it hot but instead brings out the flavors of everything else, this is the absolute perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My middle son loves chicken fried steak and so do I. He came back for seconds with this recipe. I had to change it a little. Because I'm in the Denver area, frying can be a problem - things get overdone on the outside while undercooked inside. So as soon as the outsides were done, I put them in the oven like shake-and-bake for about 1/2 hour. Also, IMHO, a touch of garlic immensely improves country gravy, so I added garlic powder to the gravy. I also couldn't find uncultured buttermilk, but regular milk worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is the best recipe I've found for chicken fried steak! I allow my steaks to "rest" on a wire rack after the final coating of flour - which seems to help the coating adhere - also make sure to pat your steaks dry with paper towels then season them as you'd like before beginning the breading process - this will also help the coating adhere better. It is also important that the oil reach the proper temperature before adding the steaks - I used Mazola Canola oil instead of shortening and did not need near the amount called for - used maybe 3/4 - 1c total. After the steaks are cooked and keeping warm (to prevent sogginess keep them on a wire rack over a cookie sheet) in a 200 oven; I do add some finely chopped onion and garlic to the oil and drippings in the pan and saute before adding the flour and milk - make sure the flour is cooked in the oil to avoid a pasty, flour-y taste to your gravy. I also like to add about 1/4c chicken stock after adding the milk - I found I only needed about 2 1/2 to 3c of milk. These additions seem to give the gravy the boost my family likes. An EXCELLENT recipe that my family loves, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Truly the best chicken fried steak I've ever eaten. Chicken fried steak has always been a diner favorite of mine, but never cooked it at home. Followed the recipe exactly and was rewarded with a crispy, non-greasy, delicious coating on our cube steaks. I served it with collard greens and "irish champ" , an allrecipes recipe. Both my boyfriend and I loved it and will certainly serve it again. Thanks smylpurty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakeffect

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Really, really delicious according to my gang butI did highly season the flour with garlic and onion powders and dried parsley flakes. Because I was being a lazy girl, I chose to use cube steaks which are obviously already tenderized. Everyone loved the gravy too. OMG, I just hit my back button to find and thank the submitter of this recipe and I see it's you Norah! So thanks sweetie pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
YUMMY! I omitted the baking soda/powder stuff, used some McCormick Seasoning Salt, garlic powder and pepper for seasoing the meat and flour and it came out so good! Thank you for the inspiration and the directions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J'sHomeSousChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States