The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I've never reviewed any recipe before, but this was awesome! The coating was light and crispy, very flavorful. Also, I had to use the buttermilk substitute that another reviewer posted, and it turned out fine. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
First time making chicken fried steak and I must say it was awesome! :D perfect recipe, wouldn't change anything, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kallie Kupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This recipe was great! After making this once for my girlfriend and I I wanted to have it again. She decided that it was too heavy for her. So instead of using steak, we switched to chicken. It was great! the only other things that we changed was to add a little bit of paprika and cayenne pepper to the dredge. Also, it is critical to pound the chicken out to about a quarter of an inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Delicious! Crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I fixed this for my family this evening. The name is absolutely right- it is THE BEST! My daughter in-law said it was the best chicken fried steak she has ever had! My wife echoed the sentiment. With 3 grandkids, we're a little toward the bland side and no one in the family is partial to Tobasco, so I skipped that ingredient, but otherwise went with the recipe as written. What a perfect breading batter. Served the steaks with rustic mashed Yukons and jalapeno gravy. We all enjoyed this recipe and it will remain in my box and will be a go to star for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Simply put, this was awesome!! I've been making my own version of chicken fried steak for years...this topped it. The crust was perfectly crisp under the creamy gravy. Just perfect, add some mashed potatoes and peas... it was comfort food at it's best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I loved it but the breading came off I will have to try this again and find a way for it to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Fallow recipe. I made half the amount. Next time I will make the gravy ahead of time and when the steaks are done eat right away. when steaks sat they got a little soggy. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
it was amazing i did add beef bouillon to the gravy to give it more flavor but other wise its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina.Veysey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband and son LOVED this recipe. The Tabasco & garlic in the batter really gives it a great flavor. The only thing I did differently was I sprinkled a bit of Creole/Cajun seasoning on the cube steak before I dredged it in the flout/batter/flour mixture. I also drained most of the oil out of the cast iron pan and added about a tablespoon of bacon grease to make the gravy. DELICIOUS. Served with homemade mashed potatoes, and you have a heavenly comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States