The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have to say I'm usually very good at following recipes..but I just tried this and it did NOT work for me. What am I doing wrong?! I felt I followed the directions to the T..used all the right ingredients..but the meat did not cook. I tried cutting into it and it was nowhere near to being edible. The breading was completely done, there was no way I could have cooked it any longer. Someone please help lol :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this exactly how the recipe was written. There was NO WAY enough salt. It was very very bland. The breading was excellent but had almost no flavor at all. Very disappointed. The family liked it and so did I but I would have to work on the seasoning before serving it again. Also, the gravy was grainy and awful. I wouldn't make the gravy using pan drippings and just oil again. It was kind of gross to me, not smooth at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I'm so glad that I tried this recipe for my first time using cubed steak! It was so tender and crispy! I will ramp up the seasonings as we can take a higher spice level..maybe salt, pepper, and cayenne on the meat before dredging with the flour mixture. Hubby and I felt that the fried steak would make an awesome sandwich...probably a great addition to a BLT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really had high hopes for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and the suggestion of seasoning the meat before battering, and it turned out horribly. Like other reviewers, this batter was too thick. When I fried it, the batter came off. The gravy tasted like flour and milk. The meat had no flavor, all I could tase was grease. Just not good. I didnt even serve it to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Loved it! So tender so flaky! It was better than any restaurant! I have not tried the gravy. I cheated to save time and used a packet of country gravy. All good. Sharing this recipe with anyone who will listen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
SO EASY! Steaks were tender and flavorful. Followed recipe to the letter. No need to do otherwise. Served with homemade mashed potatoes and English peas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Christmas eve dinner in 2013 - not healthy enough to eat on the regular, but great for special occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie C
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was a great recipe. I used crisp butter shortening to fry them in
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This IS the best!! I made it exactly as the recipe was written. The meat turned out very tender, with a great crisp coating. The gravy was an excellent milk gravy. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
WOW!!! Delish recipe!!! I used Gluten Free all purpose flour and deer loin. I forgot to add the garlic but true to my midwest/German style I was raised eating, it was perfect!!! Better then any restaurant chicken fried steak I've ever had. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Clark Hutcherson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States