The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
It really is the best! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This was very good.make sure to season the meat before the breading process
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Wow was this good! it was perfect and crispy. I double coated before placing in the pan. My husband always gives me raft for putting too much pepper in the dishes I make, so I didn't do that with the gravy and it was tasteless because of it. This recipe makes GREAT left overs. When I heated the gravy the next morning I added salt and pepper and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I loved it and so did the kids. All I did different was adding salt and pepper to the meat before battering it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma Crawford
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
I made a couple of changes. I used a tablespoon of chili garlic sauce not Tabasco, and I also used a quarter cup of corn starch. it turned out awesome. not the best I've made, but in the top 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
There is the little drive in in Lufkin, TX called Rays Drive In, they serve the best steak fingers you will ever eat and these are the closest to it I have ever come across and I made them myself. I am not a good cook LOL so my husband was knocked off his feet when he came home to this Chicken Fried Steak! I have four kids and they all loved it as well. Make sure you do them at room temperature and use the hot sauce as it ads flavor not heat. I made my own buttermilk as well by adding lemon juice to milk, it was easy and only had to let it set 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
The steak and the gravy both had a good flavor. Next time I will definitely experiment with a few other spices/seasonings to give it a little more pop. It was really fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I found it to be quite labour intensive and the steak and gravy are really nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed the directions exactly with only one variation: I seasoned the flour with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Absolutely delicious my husband and daughter are both picky eaters and they both said this is their new favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shondonny
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This turned out great but I made brown gravy with the drippings. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States