The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kokomoky
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The 1st two that I fried were a disaster. Followed the recipe exactly, but coating came completely off in the pan. I searched the reviews frantically for help. Thank you EKERR19 for this recipe saving tip!: rub salt & pepper on the steaks before dredging. After dredging, let them sit for a couple of minutes on a wire rack before frying. The rest of the steaks came out beautifully using this tip. I fried in an electric skillet, 5 min per side, then transferred to a cast iron to make the gravy. Delicious, & so tender! Made it for my parents, & they loved it! Served with mashed potatoes & "Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits". Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe. The only change I made was using the wet & dry dredge to make "Dredge Pucks" which I served the gravy over. They turned out great & I'm sure I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummy! Didn't have butter milk used the suggested cream of tartar and lemon juice! My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Neugent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was fantastic!! I did the buttermilk substitution as some reviewers had posted (thank you!), but otherwise, I did not change anything. My southern born husband absolutely loved it!! It turned out crispy and the coating stayed on. I had no problems creating this dish. Thank you Norah for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I tried this.recipe tonight and got to say it was very good, although I did make some changes; I patted the steaks dry then seasoned them with salt abd pepper then mixed in the flour and coating. I made a difference and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is soooo delicious! I've tried many for chicken fried steak and this is the one my family and I love!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BTRICH
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!! We'll steak but you're ready for it to be chicken and then you bite into a surprise! Great and easier than I thought. Gravy came out a tad bland. Only thing I would change for next time is maybe use Siracha instead of hot sauce for a little kick and added flavor, but otherwise noisy and cooked perfect. Definitely follow 3-5 minute rule! Great with the garlic green bean recipe I got off here too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Cooked this for my husband tonight and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I've never reviewed any recipe before, but this was awesome! The coating was light and crispy, very flavorful. Also, I had to use the buttermilk substitute that another reviewer posted, and it turned out fine. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Santee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
First time making chicken fried steak and I must say it was awesome! :D perfect recipe, wouldn't change anything, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 612) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States