The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed the directions exactly with only one variation: I seasoned the flour with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Absolutely delicious my husband and daughter are both picky eaters and they both said this is their new favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shondonny
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This turned out great but I made brown gravy with the drippings. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Macdonald Lirette
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have to honestly say that this is the best chicken fried steak recipe that I have ever come across my daughter is a very picky eater and she actually ate the whole thing I love it and I will add this to my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have to say I'm usually very good at following recipes..but I just tried this and it did NOT work for me. What am I doing wrong?! I felt I followed the directions to the T..used all the right ingredients..but the meat did not cook. I tried cutting into it and it was nowhere near to being edible. The breading was completely done, there was no way I could have cooked it any longer. Someone please help lol :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this exactly how the recipe was written. There was NO WAY enough salt. It was very very bland. The breading was excellent but had almost no flavor at all. Very disappointed. The family liked it and so did I but I would have to work on the seasoning before serving it again. Also, the gravy was grainy and awful. I wouldn't make the gravy using pan drippings and just oil again. It was kind of gross to me, not smooth at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I'm so glad that I tried this recipe for my first time using cubed steak! It was so tender and crispy! I will ramp up the seasonings as we can take a higher spice level..maybe salt, pepper, and cayenne on the meat before dredging with the flour mixture. Hubby and I felt that the fried steak would make an awesome sandwich...probably a great addition to a BLT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really had high hopes for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and the suggestion of seasoning the meat before battering, and it turned out horribly. Like other reviewers, this batter was too thick. When I fried it, the batter came off. The gravy tasted like flour and milk. The meat had no flavor, all I could tase was grease. Just not good. I didnt even serve it to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Loved it! So tender so flaky! It was better than any restaurant! I have not tried the gravy. I cheated to save time and used a packet of country gravy. All good. Sharing this recipe with anyone who will listen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
SO EASY! Steaks were tender and flavorful. Followed recipe to the letter. No need to do otherwise. Served with homemade mashed potatoes and English peas:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saraleewanab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Christmas eve dinner in 2013 - not healthy enough to eat on the regular, but great for special occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spratlas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idabel, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States