The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I fixed this for my family this evening. The name is absolutely right- it is THE BEST! My daughter in-law said it was the best chicken fried steak she has ever had! My wife echoed the sentiment. With 3 grandkids, we're a little toward the bland side and no one in the family is partial to Tobasco, so I skipped that ingredient, but otherwise went with the recipe as written. What a perfect breading batter. Served the steaks with rustic mashed Yukons and jalapeno gravy. We all enjoyed this recipe and it will remain in my box and will be a go to star for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Simply put, this was awesome!! I've been making my own version of chicken fried steak for years...this topped it. The crust was perfectly crisp under the creamy gravy. Just perfect, add some mashed potatoes and peas... it was comfort food at it's best. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
These were really good, we all liked them! Great directions on making gravy, which can be so tricky. I made with brown rice flour since we watch our gluten intake, but used regular flour for the gravy. I used only 2 C flour for coating which was plenty and half amounts called for in gravy, also plenty. Only thing I'd change next time is increase salt to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I loved it but the breading came off I will have to try this again and find a way for it to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Fallow recipe. I made half the amount. Next time I will make the gravy ahead of time and when the steaks are done eat right away. when steaks sat they got a little soggy. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
it was amazing i did add beef bouillon to the gravy to give it more flavor but other wise its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina.Veysey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband and son LOVED this recipe. The Tabasco & garlic in the batter really gives it a great flavor. The only thing I did differently was I sprinkled a bit of Creole/Cajun seasoning on the cube steak before I dredged it in the flout/batter/flour mixture. I also drained most of the oil out of the cast iron pan and added about a tablespoon of bacon grease to make the gravy. DELICIOUS. Served with homemade mashed potatoes, and you have a heavenly comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Park, California, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This recipe is the best I've ever tried. The only thing I did different was sprinkle abit of montreal seasoning on one side of the meat and pat it into just one side before flouring etc. My husband said this recipe was the best I've ever made. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlemurr
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made this last night! My hubby loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe tonight exactly as listed except I replaced the garlic and hot sauce with a few squirt of Sri sriracha rooster sauce. My boys ate ALL of them. They key is to bread 1, let it sit about 3 minutes before putting it in the oil. Wonderfully yummy and so crispy! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States