The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
WOW just as the name implied THE BEST - I was skeptical about the Dijon, Worcestershire Sauce and V-8 combo but 30 min. after this mixture got going in the crock pot the aroma was fantastic, you could even smell it outside ! I followed the recipe with the exception of the Chicken broth (3 cups) and Veggie broth (2 cups) as mentioned in one of the reviews for use with a slow cooker. I used my left over Honey Baked ham and as there wasn't a whole lot of meat on it, I added some sliced Linguisa I had on hand. I cooked it on high for 10 hours and didn't add the Linguisa till hour 9. This soup was incredible I look forward to making it often. Next time I will add an additional cup of chicken broth and will keep the sausage as well as the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was a wonderful hearty soup. The flavors reminded me of my mother's lentil soup growing up. More of a vegetable base than a creamy base. I think I will try lentils instead of the bean mix next time. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time. I don't usually serve something I haven't made before to company, but I did today. We all agreed it was very tasty, but the company just kept saying, ummm, a few minutes later, ummm. It was perfect for today because it's really cold and snowy outside. The only addition I made to the recipe was to add garlic. I had no vegetable broth, so I just used my own homemade chicken stock for both the vegetable and chicken stock. I DID do some things differently as far as how the ingredients were added. I though that cooking all the veggies from the beginning and for so long a time would result in mushy veggies. So, in order to flavor the beans, I sacrificed one stalk of celery and a carrot at the beginning and added the rest about 45 minutes before the end of the cooking time, which, by the way, did not take 8 hours. I think it was around 3-4 hours. I had soaked my beans for about a day and a half. We live at a high elevation and you just can't use shortcut methods up here. When I finished cooking the soup yesterday I have to admit that I wasn't thrilled with the taste. However, after sitting in the fridge all night, it was wonderful today! We like things spicy, but this was just the right amount of chili powder. It wasn't overwhelming. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Didn't change anything. Excellent as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy E
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My husband said this was the best soup I have ever made. I followed the recipe except I used 1 quart veggie broth & 1 quart chicken broth. It was DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I have been making soup for 30 plus years and this is, by far. the best I have ever made. As others, I soaked the beans overnight. I omitted the chili powder (personal choice)--cannot understand why its not a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Easy to make and delicious. Wasn't sure at first. I omitted the lemon juice and cut the cooking time to 2 1/2 hours and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This recipe is excellent. I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Downard Reis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I can't say how this compares to a traditional ham and bean soup, since I've never had one, but I'm definitely with those who say it's wonderful. I generally make a yellow split pea soup with a ham bone, but kept forgetting to buy the peas, so entered "ham" and "beans" on the search engine and came up with this. I thought I had all the ingredients - I used a combination of pinto, kidney, black and navy beans, and black eyed peas - but only found out after I started to make it that someone ate the last of the celery as a snack while we were stuffing the turkey. However, I had already started so went with what I had. I added 1/2 tsp celery salt about half way through, together with the garlic and ginger recommended by others, and another 1/2 tsp of celery salt when I took out the ham bone. I used unsalted turkey broth instead of chicken (it being Christmas) and there was no salt in the veggie broth, so the salt was not an issue. I was concerned about the ginger, but can't taste it at all - the flavours blend together beautifully. Those who think it tastes good after 4 or 5 hours really should try waiting the full time recommended - the flavour really doesn't really develop until about hour 8, and keeps getting better from there. Thank you for the recipe. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States