The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Enjoyable & will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
FANTASTIC!! I live in a home filled with males, whom detests any type of soup! However, I was wanting bean soup and since I do the cooking, we had bean soup. This is by far the BEST soup we have ever had!! ALL the boys / men in the house asked for seconds and no one complained with the leftovers the next day. It was actually said the soup tasted better the second day!! I did cut back on the broth to make a "less soup" effect and used Italian sausage because I didn't have any ham or ham bone. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This had a wonderful flavor. I made this pretty much as written, but did try a couple of the suggestions other reviewers had made. I did add 1 tbsp baking soda to the beans when cooking them for 30 minutes. Be aware that this caused the beans to cook down really fast and I pretty much ended up with a pot of bean puree. I couldn't drain the cooking water off as the recipe calls for because they were so thick! The overall flavor was wonderful, spices were a perfect, and the soup ended up very thick and hearty. I cooked my ham bone separately, skimmed off the fat and used that broth instead of the chicken broth. I also eventually added a couple of cans of beans to go with my "puree", and next time I may try it again without adding the baking soda to see how that turns out. I was able to freeze the extras up and look forward to having this frequently in future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very good the best I've had. I modified the dish by using nine cups of chicken broth through out the day and 1 1/2 T. Of gumbo file as a flavor enhancement and thickening agent. The result was more consistent with a strew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the second time I am making this wonderful soup. The first time I made it I ate four bowls before the day was over. I do believe that it is the very best soup I've ever tasted. And I made it myself!!! I did not tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This soup has exceptional flavour. I took a chance on it; I tripled the recipe and took to a soup lunch to serve 30 people. It got rave reviews. I will now make it for my own family quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this today, used all the ingredients specified, except I did not use dry beans. I used Randall's Pinto Beans, already prepared. This soup turned out perfect! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have to make a batch of this every couple of weeks to freeze individual servings for my husband's lunch. Every day at lunch I get a text, "This is the best soup ever."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This brings bean and ham soup to a whole new level. The best ever! I didn't have any celery, so I used celery flakes. I also didn't have vegetable broth, so I added a little extra chicken broth and water. I used more chili powder than the recipe called for because I'm a real chili lover. Also added a bit of brown sugar. This is a great recipe to "tweak" to your definition of perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This is the first time I have ever made soup. Easy. I always loved my mother-in-law's bean and ham soup but unfortunately, she did not have a recipe and passed away 2 years ago. I tried this and it is very close to hers. My husband thinks so too. Thank you for sharing your recipe online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States