The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Enjoyable & will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
FANTASTIC!! I live in a home filled with males, whom detests any type of soup! However, I was wanting bean soup and since I do the cooking, we had bean soup. This is by far the BEST soup we have ever had!! ALL the boys / men in the house asked for seconds and no one complained with the leftovers the next day. It was actually said the soup tasted better the second day!! I did cut back on the broth to make a "less soup" effect and used Italian sausage because I didn't have any ham or ham bone. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This had a wonderful flavor. I made this pretty much as written, but did try a couple of the suggestions other reviewers had made. I did add 1 tbsp baking soda to the beans when cooking them for 30 minutes. Be aware that this caused the beans to cook down really fast and I pretty much ended up with a pot of bean puree. I couldn't drain the cooking water off as the recipe calls for because they were so thick! The overall flavor was wonderful, spices were a perfect, and the soup ended up very thick and hearty. I cooked my ham bone separately, skimmed off the fat and used that broth instead of the chicken broth. I also eventually added a couple of cans of beans to go with my "puree", and next time I may try it again without adding the baking soda to see how that turns out. I was able to freeze the extras up and look forward to having this frequently in future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very good the best I've had. I modified the dish by using nine cups of chicken broth through out the day and 1 1/2 T. Of gumbo file as a flavor enhancement and thickening agent. The result was more consistent with a strew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is the second time I am making this wonderful soup. The first time I made it I ate four bowls before the day was over. I do believe that it is the very best soup I've ever tasted. And I made it myself!!! I did not tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This soup has exceptional flavour. I took a chance on it; I tripled the recipe and took to a soup lunch to serve 30 people. It got rave reviews. I will now make it for my own family quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this today, used all the ingredients specified, except I did not use dry beans. I used Randall's Pinto Beans, already prepared. This soup turned out perfect! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have to make a batch of this every couple of weeks to freeze individual servings for my husband's lunch. Every day at lunch I get a text, "This is the best soup ever."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This brings bean and ham soup to a whole new level. The best ever! I didn't have any celery, so I used celery flakes. I also didn't have vegetable broth, so I added a little extra chicken broth and water. I used more chili powder than the recipe called for because I'm a real chili lover. Also added a bit of brown sugar. This is a great recipe to "tweak" to your definition of perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This is the first time I have ever made soup. Easy. I always loved my mother-in-law's bean and ham soup but unfortunately, she did not have a recipe and passed away 2 years ago. I tried this and it is very close to hers. My husband thinks so too. Thank you for sharing your recipe online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States