The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This soup has exceptional flavour. I took a chance on it; I tripled the recipe and took to a soup lunch to serve 30 people. It got rave reviews. I will now make it for my own family quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this today, used all the ingredients specified, except I did not use dry beans. I used Randall's Pinto Beans, already prepared. This soup turned out perfect! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have to make a batch of this every couple of weeks to freeze individual servings for my husband's lunch. Every day at lunch I get a text, "This is the best soup ever."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This brings bean and ham soup to a whole new level. The best ever! I didn't have any celery, so I used celery flakes. I also didn't have vegetable broth, so I added a little extra chicken broth and water. I used more chili powder than the recipe called for because I'm a real chili lover. Also added a bit of brown sugar. This is a great recipe to "tweak" to your definition of perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This is the first time I have ever made soup. Easy. I always loved my mother-in-law's bean and ham soup but unfortunately, she did not have a recipe and passed away 2 years ago. I tried this and it is very close to hers. My husband thinks so too. Thank you for sharing your recipe online.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was BY FAR the best ham and beans I've ever had. At my 91 year old mothers insistence, I added a few slices of bacon. I had to skim some fat when it was done, but the bacon added just enough salt that I didn't need to add any extra. I'll be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I was really pleased with how this soup turned out! I did a few things differently ( just for the sake of using what I had). Instead of using a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes and 12 oz of vegetable juice, I just used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes including the juice in the can. I substituted soy sauce for the Worcestershire. Finally, I used pork butt which included a bone and then a big hunk of ham ( courtesy of my boyfriend's mom:) chopping it up after it had defrosted in the soup for a couple of hours. I didn't read ahead and realize the soup had to cook for 8 hours, plus . So I ended up cooking it for about 4, putting it outside in the snow for about an hour (not my idea) to cool down, the putting it in the fridge. We pulled it out the next night, simmered it for another 3 hours or so, and then had a great meal. Next time, I'll use the crock pot. Not just for the time, but for the volume too...... My soup pot was filled to the brim and I didn't use at least half of the chicken broth because of that. Thanks for a great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This came out SO good and there is a lot of it. To avoid some of the fat I boiled the ham bone and hock for a couple of hours, cooled the broth, skimmed the fat and strained the remaining pieces. I used that broth in place of the vegetable and chicken broths. Instead I added one large Tbsp each of low sodium vegetable and chicken base. Everything else remained the same as the recipe as posted. It does have a nice touch of heat to it. Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is by far the best ham and bean soup I have EVER had!!!! All of my kids ate it, which is a small miracle in my home, but was abolutely delicious. I followed the revised directions with the only exception, I had made my own broth. Great way to use up any ham you may have, even the lunch meat variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
OMG. This soup has been on the stove for 7 hours. It's done and has smelled outstanding since I put in all the ingredients to cook 7 hours ago.. I made two changes. Since my husband and I don't care for many of the beans in the 15 bean pack, I substituted Great Northern white beans and I used 2 packages. I also didn't have Dijon mustard. I had Dijonaise which mixes the Dijon mustard with a little mayo. I used it in place of the pure mustard. I added everything that was called for, Worcestershire, lemon juice, chili powder, etc. The beans and vegies are cooked and the soup is perfect, since I've added more water to thin. It is DELICIOUS. Can't wait for dinner time. Serving homemade cornbread with butter to accompany. I'll make this again. What a wonderful depth of flavors. Don't change a thing about the seasonings. It's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States