The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
By far the best bean soup EVER! Remembering bland, disgusting bean soup as a child? This bean soup has flavor and a must try! You will be happy you did and so will everyone else you share it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Reduced the quantities to fit my pot. Made ham stock the day before like another reviewer mentioned to be able to skim off some fat. Did not add the vegetable juice or lemon juice, used Rotel tomatoes, half the chili powder, mustard, and Worcestershire. Used 3 cans of beans as another short cut. Added the veggies during the last hour of simmering as other reviewers recommended. Really liked the flavors and the mix of veggies with ham and beans. Cooked the soup about 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this soup according to the recipe, with my ham bone. we thought it tasted like a "chili wanna be". It has a tomato base and tasted like chili, except for the ham. We didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Simple and delicious. Only thing l did different was add potatoes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
We did not like it because It made us all sick do not want more to do with it or any other recipe like it . took us three day to get out of our body
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol E Cossairt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Wow! This is amazing. It is a perfect blend of spices, broth and vegetable juice. Given that, I would imagine that you could add any combination of meats and vegetables. I threw in some wild pheasant and wild duck and it tasted just great. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Maybe I did something wrong, but it tastes like vinegar soup. With so many great reviews, I hoped it would be a new favorite in my house, we love every ingredient in the list, but the end result was a huge pot of soup we can't eat. I hate to waste food, but I don't know how to make it edible. It leaves a weird taste in your mouth, very sour. The only thing I did different from the recipe was use broth made from the ham bone the day before instead of chicken broth, but the broth tastes good on its own, so it's not the broth that's sour? Bummer. First time I've been seriously disappointed in an allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I am letting this recipe simmer now. I had to write because you should not use kosher salt with any pork / ham products. kosher means it has been blessed by a rabbi and is considered clean in tradition with Jewish law. Please substitute sea salt .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Really loved this soup! Delicious broth! Use a real large pot, make some fresh bread too and invite your friends over. I thought there might be too many carrots but there were not. I am going to make another batch and can it. Thank you BenevolentEmpress for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States