The Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I haven't rated it yet but, it's in the oven. Seems to be a very dense dough. Smells yummy though! I followed some suggestions added 4 bananas, splash of rum splash of vanilla splash of black walnut extracts. 1 3/4 cups flour....can't wait to eat it! I'll let everyone know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of Malt-O-Meal which is the same as Cream of Wheat. I also ran out of bananas. I thought I had 3 but only had 2. My mashed bananas equalled 1 cup so I mashed up 1/2 cup of canned peaches (2 snack cups). I was also a tad short of margarine and made up the difference (about 1/8 cup) of apple sauce. I threw in 1/2 teaspoon of baking spice and another 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon plus 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I baked the bread on the lowest rack for one hour. Well, I thought this bread was going to be a disaster. It turned out perfectly. It is moist and dense. The banana and peaches really compliment each other. Great recipe. I can't believe how so many substitutions can result in such a wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It was easy to make and turned out great and was moist. Also I added chocolate chips which made it taste a lot better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I only had two ripe bananas so threw in a big spoon of chunky applesauce, with some walnuts and put a little salt in as well. I used real butter, unsalted. It is a basic recipe which I like. Few ingredients making it fast and easy. I can add choco chips, or whatever I want to it and make it different every time. Liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I gave it 5 stars as a very good basic recipe because it was moist and good, not too sweet and I had all the ingredients called for unlike some of the other recipes that call for brown sugar, buttermilk or sour cream. I did add pecans, 1tbs vanilla and a half of a little snack size cup of cinnamon applesauce. It was just what I had on hand. I used 4 very ripe bananas. Great recipe to use with few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe a couple of time's. Great, no fuss. I also used 3 bananas, tsp. almond flavoring, 1/4tsp nutmeg, 1/4tsp nutmeg. Wow try it really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Margarine makes this a bit dry...use oil instead. I also add vanilla..very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Loved it! Easy recipe for me to show the kids. Did have to bake a few more minutes, but tasted amazing. I've made it several times so far. Added to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eufaula, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Best and easiest. I have tried over dozen banana bread recipes n always come back to this. Love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickjames143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
it is wonderful with 3/4 of a cup of chocolate chips in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 940) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States