The Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I have used this recipe several times now. I do make a few minor changes such as a teaspoon of vanilla and some cinnamon, but everytime I make it the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe was alright, a tad on the dry side but still tasty, the only change I made was to use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 regular sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by re
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I added 1/4 of milk mix was pretty thick. I also added extra bananas and mini Choco chips! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
love this banana bread truly lives up to its name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used half white and half brown sugar. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips as well. I also made muffins. Baked for 25 minutes, 10 on bottom rack and 15 on top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I've made this several times and it's a great recipe. I even use it with plantain. Using plantain or with bananas which are still a bit firm, I saute them in butter until soft enough to mash. Plantain tends to be a little more fibrous than banana, so it makes a few fruit chunks in the loaf, which for me is all to the good. I also add a teaspoon of vanilla, sometimes some cinnamon or nutmeg. I like to add chopped nuts, but they are so expensive here on the island that I don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Dry, tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I haven't rated it yet but, it's in the oven. Seems to be a very dense dough. Smells yummy though! I followed some suggestions added 4 bananas, splash of rum splash of vanilla splash of black walnut extracts. 1 3/4 cups flour....can't wait to eat it! I'll let everyone know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of Malt-O-Meal which is the same as Cream of Wheat. I also ran out of bananas. I thought I had 3 but only had 2. My mashed bananas equalled 1 cup so I mashed up 1/2 cup of canned peaches (2 snack cups). I was also a tad short of margarine and made up the difference (about 1/8 cup) of apple sauce. I threw in 1/2 teaspoon of baking spice and another 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon plus 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I baked the bread on the lowest rack for one hour. Well, I thought this bread was going to be a disaster. It turned out perfectly. It is moist and dense. The banana and peaches really compliment each other. Great recipe. I can't believe how so many substitutions can result in such a wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It was easy to make and turned out great and was moist. Also I added chocolate chips which made it taste a lot better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 946) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States