The Best Bacon-Tomato Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Substituted 2tbsp sundried tomatoes, chopped with oil for the tomatoes. As good as store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is pretty good. I think substituting the onions for scallions (white and green parts) makes for a better dip. i've learned it's ok not to add the mayonnaise to this. The sour cream and the cream cheese is actually enough. Make sure the cream cheese is at room temperature. It makes it easier to blend in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
The guests I served this to really loved it. I have to confess that I didn't bother to deseed the tomato. My husband isn't a fan of raw onion so I used chives instead. This will get many more outings I'm sure. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My Husband loved this dip and has requested that I make it a few times (he never gets excited about food). I made as written - only using green onion instead of white - he call's it the BLT dip. yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I'm not big on ranch dressing, so I didn't want to do as others suggested, so I bought ranch-flavored potato chips for the dipper. I felt a little of this dip goes a long way, and my BF, who is a big bacon lover didn't care for it. I love all the ingredients so I can't figure out what's wrong with it! I'm going to buy some corn chips and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Everybody loves this dip! I always get compliments when I make it. I double the batch- makes a ton but it's worth it. Definitely use green onions, and a couple dashes of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I made this as a quick after school snack for the kids. I used onion powder in place of the chopped onions and added 1 teaspoon of dried ranch dressing mix. I served with crackers, tortilla chips, carrots and celery. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This dip is great, but we like adding some creamed horseradish, and wow you get that zing you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Tasty! After reading the other reviews, I added green onions, salt and pepper to this recipe, and still found it a tiny bit bland for my tastes. Next time maybe I'll try some garlic, but there will definitely be a next time. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was well received by those in the family usually unwilling to deviate from the old familiar standbys. I have to say that I ate enough of this great stuff too-- with Ruffles potato chips! As others did, I also used green onion, as it provided color as well as a little milder flavor than chopped, regular onion would. I did cut back just a bit on the amount of onion called for as I knew that as it stood the flavor would become more intense. I know this will become a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States