The Best BLT Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I was looking for a something new to bring to our last BBQ of the summer for our local Veterans of Foriegns Wars post. I make alot of food there weekly. I made this along with some crustinies, and it was a hugh hit! Everyone wanted to know where I got the receipe. I told them that I read it on line and it was a hugh hit for someone else and they were right. The only thing I added were chives, love the onion taste. Great call!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was tasty. I do agree that equal parts mayo and sour cream would have been too much mayo. I used a ratio of sour cream to mayo of 2:1. I added more tomato and a bit of parsley for color..served on pita crisps. Yummy and easy. Don't skimp on bacon.. its the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I also used 2 cups mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Also, I use the precooked microwavable bacon. It stays crispy, no matter how long you have the leftovers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
The recipe as written has way too much mayo and sour cream. I make it with one cup each on the mayo and sour cream to a pound of thick sliced bacon. I cook the bacon well and break it into pieces but keep them large enough to be recognizable. Since it's BLT dip you don't want bacon "crumbs." You don't need any additional salt. The bacon adds enough on its own. I skip the garlic, too. Think about it... you don't put garlic on a BLT sandwich. It overpowers the BLT flavor. For tomato I use the giant cherries (or other less liquidy tomato) and just cut them up. Chopping would bring out too much moisture. The equivalent of one tomato is not nearly enough. Add tomato until it's to your liking. Serving with pita or bagel chips is far better than using bread but it is great with toast points.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janisko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Waaaaay too much mayo. I used one 8oz container of sour cream and 8oz of mayo. I put half of the bacon (I only cooked 10 slices) in the mixture and layered the top by putting shredded lettuce then chopped tomatoes and then rest of bacon. Good basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used at three very large tomatoes, that I spooned the "guts" out of and I AT LEAST halved the mayonnaise and sour cream (I added about a half cup of each and after I added the lettuce, I needed just a touch more, but really the amount required in this recipe would have been overkill for us). Right before serving, I stirred in one package of already-shredded lettuce. I did taste it and I added a little more garlic powder after tasting. We really enjoyed this. I didn't have white bread but I did have whole wheat, so I toasted that and cut it into points and also opened a box of Wheat Thins and we ate that with this dip as well. My boys just went ape over it. You add bacon to anything, pretty much, they'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I took this to a party with fresh french bread and it was a hit. I followed the other suggestions and only used 1 C mayo. There is no way you need a whole jar. I mixed the the mayo, sour cream, and cream cheese and left it in the fridge for a few hours before adding the rest just before I left for the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
REVISED VERSION WAS DEVOURED!! I agree with many reviewers that this original dip recipe has WAY too much mayo. The 2nd time around, I used 1 cup each of mayo, sour cream and cream cheese. Added 1/2 packet of ranch dressing mix, 1 clove of fresh minced garlic and blended well. Chopped fresh cherry tomatoes (about 20) and blended into the dip 3/4 of the bacon and tomatoes, leaving the remaining of both to sprinkle on top of the dip. THIS VERSION WAS DEVOURED though the original was barely touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
too much mayo and sour cream, 1 cup of each is enough for 1 pound bacon, and i used two well sqeezed out tomatoes. also just bought italian bread chips already toasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I have been making this recipe for quite a while now. I do however make some changes. NO mayo! I use 8 oz room temp cream cheese and 1/2 cup of sour cream. Lots of bacon or bacon pieces and tomatoes. Very very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BLT Dip

Chopped crispy bacon and fresh tomato mix it up with creamy sour cream and mayo.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States