The Best Artichoke Chicken Buffet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I liked this recipe more than my husband did, but I'm more of a rice eater than he is. The soup I used was an organic cream of chicken soup from Sprouts, and it is not very thick (like the popular commercial one is that has MSG in it). Otherwise, I followed the recipe except that I cooked my Wisconsin rice in chicken broth rather than water. I would make this again, but I'd have to cut it back because I might be alone in this meal! :) Thanks, GUEMES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Husband who doesn't like artichokes loved this dish! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This casserole dish was so tasty! I honestly didn't know how to prepare julienned carrots so I just used shredded and thought it worked just fine. I agree with an earlier review that it makes more than a 9"x13" can hold. My husband and I have been fighting over the leftovers at lunchtime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I've made this several times, with great success and rave reviews. I've also doubled the recipe and frozen some, this works well. Be sure you have enough wild rice (the packages are deceiving) and don't substitute the "brown and wild rice" mix. Using all wild rice really makes the recipe. It's a lot of work (not hard, just time-consuming), but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
My family gave this recipe a 5 star rating. I doubled easily for my big family and also had to improvise with a coupld of things. I had 1 family sz cream of chicken soup and added a family sz cream of mushroom soup, also added 1 t. sweet paprika and 1 t. thyme. I didn't have mozz cheese so I used an italian blend of cheeses I had on hand. I also used the cooking directions on the package of wild rice, also I only had matchstick carrots which cooked perfectly. Also, instead of 1 cup of butter to cook the onions and mushrooms I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 bacon drippings. Everyone asked for the recipe and the kids ate it up too! I will make this again by request I'm sure and I will add more bacon. This would be good over fetticini too....next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rm2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This dish was awesome! Though I did it a little different. I preseasoned the chicken with seasonings of my own preference. I only used one jar of artichokes. Then I used pre-packaged bacon pieces (because I didn't have any bacon) yet I used bacon grease to pre-cook the chicken with & saute the veggies with. I then put parmesean & breadcrumbs on the top. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desrika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Sorry, but my husband and I did not like this at all. I love artichokes and chicken so I was really excited about this, but we did not care for the flavor. I think maybe I just didn't like the chicken soup flavor? Or maybe canned artichokes? I'm not quite sure what it was, but we will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for! I've been searching for a chicken and rice casserole, but others that I have tried have been too bland. I substituted cream of chicken soup with herbs for some extra flavor and sour cream for the heavy cream for a little more depth. Came out delicious! Fit perfectly in my 9 x 13 baking pan - I'm not sure what the other user's issue was with that. I will definitely make this recipe again - yummy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was not a favorite with us. The flavor was pretty good, but the texture was mushy and a little unappealing. I didn't add the carrots because I thought they would be a strange flavor to add to this kind of casserole, but I can't imagine that they would have made a huge difference in the turnout. Probably won't make this again. Thanks anyway, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This is soo ymuuy! I made this a low-carb version (or just lower carb, depending on what "stage" you're on) by omitting the rice all together, and also the carrots. I added an additional can of artichokes to soak up the soup, since there was no rice. Tasty! I could have taken out the onions, but they add so much flavor to a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YHWH Bread of Life

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Piccata with Artichoke Hearts

Savory chicken piccata with artichokes in a white wine sauce.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States