The Best Apple Pie Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gsimmons
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I have made this 3 times now and it is my husbands favorite apple pie recipe. The cook time is way too SHORT though. I have increased it up to 1 hour 15 minutes to try to get the crust done and some of the soup cooked. Next time I make it I will add the 2 TBL flour to the cinn / sugar mixture someone else suggested. I also did brush a beaten egg on the top crust and sprinkled it with some sugar and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was recipe was easy to follow & my family LOVED it!! I did add some flour to it before I put the top pie crust on & bathed the top pie crust with an egg wash...YUMMY!! I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have just tried this recipe. I do think the amount of sugar and the baking times are off a bit. The 1/2 cup sugar was WAY too little(the pie was too tart. And the 30 minute cooking time was WAY too short,Unless you like raw apples and under cooked crust. I tried to repair it but to no avail. I made this just the way the recipe called forand it fell way to short.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I really like the flavor of the pie. But the baking time for me at 350 degrees took 1 hour, and I brushed the top crust with whole milk and sprinkled it with sugar. And next time I will be adding a couple tablespoons flour so the pie isn't runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I loved this recipe, I thought it was amazing and not too maple flavored. It was just perfect. I did add 3 tablespoons of flour so it wasnt runny, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I made this pie in a gluten and dairy free pie crust. This was a really great spin on the traditional apple pie and had really good flavor, I just prefer the traditional apple pie more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I didn't find this to be sweet enough, would probably add a bit more maple syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Just what I was waiting for!! So much flavor. I have been looking for a recipe for apple pie for years that encompasses the cinnamon and nutmeg flavors and I could never find the right one. Now I have found it! Thank you!! Now, this is the only apple pie recipe I use for my family. I made this recipe twice. Once with pie crust on top and once with a crumb topping. Both ways are excellent! This is not your grandmother's "traditional" apple pie. I absolutely LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
it was good, but lacked that traditional feel i was looking for. On its own merits its a great pie though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States