The Aztec Five-Step Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
LOve this soup.. I did reduce the steps though. I did follow the first step on the stovetop, but then I tossed everything into the crockpot.. except for the toppings potatoes and zucchini. I cooked for about 3 1/2 hours, shredded the chicken up, put it back in, added the zucchini and cooked for another 30-45 minutes - not sure of time. I browned the potatoes on the stovetop and then assembled everyrthing. I tasted it the day I made it and it was ok,.. the next day it was terrific. This improves a lot over night. I did add more salt as the tomato paste makes for a sweeter soup..Couldn't find epazote.. used cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I was missing chopped tomatoes, onions, epazote (which i now have to find out what that is), all of the vegetables, but I had potatoes!! But I spiced the heck outta them with salt basil and garlic salt. Put on the cheese, and mmmmmm. I am excited to make this right the next time, especially as the winter is around the bend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moriahunadah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yum! Yum! Yum! Totally worth busting your butt making. I loved this and there was plenty for me to freeze. It was three meals. The overall taste improves with freezing but I love squash with a little pop when you bite them, so the first meal of it is special too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This recipe was wonderful! I too made this for several picky teenagers at their New Years Eve party. They all had seconds. What a hearty combination of ingredients. My family has asked that it become a regular meal. I agree that this is very worth the effort. The only ingredient we added was our individual choices of hot sauce as we all love a bit of spice. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was very good, however I scaled down the number as well as the quantity of ingredients and made some major modifications in order to make this a little less time consuming to prepare. Instead of chicken, I used fully-cooked chicken sausage w/spinach and asiago cheese. Since the sausage had spinach in it I omitted this from the ingredient list. I used chicken broth instead of water, and I used diced tomatoes instead of whole. I did not puree the tomatoes in a food processor. I used tortilla chips instead of corn tortillas, and I also added a dollop of sour cream to the finished dish. I served this to 4 picky teens and they all had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I liked the flavor of this recipe. I did use cilantro instead of the epazote because I've never used it, wasn't sure of the flavor, and didn't want to take a chance on my family not liking it after all the work that goes into this lol. I followed the rest of it to a 't'. I do think it tastes even better the next day (I just mixed everything together in a tupperware instead of saving each layer seperately and it was yummy). I do not however agree with all here that this recipe is worth all the work. I have made some elaborate recipes which are worth all the work, but I am sorry to say, for us this is not one of them. I think it could be done with many shortcuts and have the same flavor. Will tinker with it and find an easier way to make it. But overall flavor deserves 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
Oh, this was fabulous! Worth the trouble. A huge hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2002
I made half of the recipie. It was absolutely wonderful, especially since we were able to use fresh zuchini, peppers, tomatoes, oregeno and basil from our garden. You could leave the chicken out and substitute beans if you wanted to make this an all vegetarian dish, and perhaps use a bit of vegetable stock intead. I give it an A+.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This soup is absolutely delicious. It takes some work and time, but it makes a huge pot and will last several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I tried this recipe leaving out the last two steps, and it's last ingredients (i.e. potatoes, spinach, avacado, cheese, tortilla). I was able to store the soup for a while without those ingredients. The longer the veggies and chicken sat in the broth, the better it tasted!! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States