The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These are so great! I made a batch for dinner and my family just loved them. Thanks Kari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Yowza is right Kari! These were incredible to say the least. I don't normally eat red meat merely because I don't really care for it, however, there's always an exception to every rule and this was it! I've spent many years looking for the perfect S.M. recipe and my search has finally ended. I did make a couple of changes to suit out tastes. To the meat mixture I added more seasonings; garlic and onion powders, etc. After the meatballs were cooked in the oven, I took them out of the casserole dish and placed them on a separate plate. I added beef broth (not water) to the casserole dish and cooked on a low flame in order to loosen the browned bits from the bottom. I then used that to make the sauce. No matter what any recipe calls for, I always double the amount of liquid. In this case I added two cans of low salt cream of mushroom soup. Again Kari, I'm totally impressed with your wonderful recipe and so were my hubby and kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
The sauce was very disappointing, it hardly had any taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Well, I wish I could write two reviews for this recipe. Good news or bad first? I'll start with the bad-we were not impressed with the sauce recipe by any means. Thankfully we all taste-tested it prior to adding the meatballs. I whipped up a white cream sauce as an emergency alternative since the other sauce was pretty much inedible. Ok, on to the good part. The meatball recipe here is excellent, I was very impressed with flavor and texture-they will be good with other sauces and I look forward to preparing them again. Hope others have better luck than I did with the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
We enjoyed these meatballs but weren't saying "Wow". I made a different sauce, and served them over egg noodles. I'd try the meatballs one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAIGENGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was an excellent recipe, but I was horrified when I read the nutritional information. I made a couple changes to make it less fattening - I used lean groud turkey instead of the beef and pork, and I also used skim milk. The only other changes I made was that I added fresh garlic and other spices. It was delicious! I used a different sauce which consisted of 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup of reduced fat sour cream, skim milk, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, and hot sauce. The recipe was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
these meatballs were great! i'm not sure what others were saying about the sauce because it turned out really good. it tasted kinda bland on its own but went really well with the meatballs. i cut down on the cooking time by frying the meatballs with pam first and adding sauce and cooking in the over for the last 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
My husband is the pickiest eater and loved them. I did use onion powder in place of the chopped onions. I also used olive oil instead of veg oil for the sauce. The sauce did not taste good alone , but when mixed with the meatballs was very good. I will make this again very soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
the meatballs were very good. i added a little nutmeg to the meat & used a different sauce. i kept them warm in a crockpot & they were the hit of the party! (leftovers were even better w/ egg noodles)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Wanna make it fluffier? Use only 1/2 lb of beef! Wanna make it faster? Coat the bottom of a covered skillet or sauteuse (if you want more sauce) with the oil. Sear the meatballs, cooking and lightly browning the outside. Remove the meatballs and then add the flour, whisking continuously (like making white sauce). Then add the water to which you have added the paprika and the salt & pepper to taste. Mix well. Return the meatballs to the pan and cover. Simmer until done. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Nepomuceno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States