The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This wound up being a great recipe, but I made SIGNIFICANT changes to the sauce. I hate it when people review when they've made a lot of changes, but I think the sauce recipe, as written, must be a mistake. I wouldn't want anyone to take the time to make this to be disappointed with the outcome. when just a few changes made a fabulous sauce. I did make the meatballs with ground turkey (since that was all I had), and they turned out quite well - other than that, I made them as written. For the sauce, I used butter instead of oil, chicken stock instead of water (but use beef stock if you are using beef/pork for the meatballs) and just a bit of salt. I'm not afraid to use salt in my cooking, but a whole tablespoon here has to be a mistake. The sauce turned out so good, I made it again and served it with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I had a craving for a dish my mom made when I was young, meatballs with gravy and rice. I liked the meatball recipe but wanted brown gravy so skipped the sauce part of the recipe. I also used a whole onion (what can I say, I love onions!) and Italian bread crumbs. The meatballs were fabulous! I used a brown gravy packet and substituted half the water with the pan drippings and onions that fell off. Delicious! Everyone loved them and it was my first time making meatballs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Great meatballs. Didn't use any salt at all- used salt substitute. The sauce recipe looked wierd, and I didn't have any sour cream, so I just made a roux with flour from the oven pan drippings, and added some chicken stock. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I had never made Swedish Meatballs before but my husband told me how much he likes them. I made this recipe and "Amazing" they are. Easy to make, absolutely delicious. I'll be making this recipe for my family regularly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The meatballs were very good. I used my own sauce which is not Swedish at all. Thin a can of cream of mushroom soup with your favorite barbecue sauce until it is the right consistency. No one can ever guess what ingredients are in the sauce. Thanks for the meatball recipe. I may even try it with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
These were really good and got good reviews from friends as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I only used the meatball recipe. It was very good meatballs, expecially with the ground pork! My family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
The sauce was VERY BAD! My Meatballs are great,so i just wanted to try and make the sauce,never again will i use flour and water i followed every step so i really dont think i messed up, i love sour cream so i thought this would be perfect.I really want to start learning how to make really great sauces.This is definitely not one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A8C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
The sauce for these meatballs was awful, and came out something akin to salty flour water. I would reccommend using beef broth or cream of mushroom soup instead of the flour and water combo. You could definitely taste the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
The meatballs were delicious and I will be making them again and again. The sauce on the other hand, was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States