The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I am so disappointed in the sauce! I wish I had read the reviews instead of just looking at the star rating. It tastes like flour, isn't creamy and is the wrong color even! I made a lot expecting to make several dinners from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Everything was ok except for the sauce. There is definitely something missing. I followed it exactly but it tasted like flour. Not good. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I just made this and it turned out great. I read some of the reviews and made a few mods to the sauce. Used beef broth, and a can of cream of mushroom soup, also used smoked paprika instead of regular. So yummy. It's not very healthy, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Meatballs excellent but the sauce was awful. Added so many different ingredients that I can't begin to list them here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Way,way,way too much salt!!! Otherwise, it was a big hit.....will definately make again.....with less salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Slater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my FAVORITE recipe! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because of the changes I had to make. The sauce was tasteless until I made some change. Instead of vegetable oil, I used butter. Also, I use boiling beef or chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
It was good--but thankfully I read all the reviews before proceeding. The meatballs came out great but I decided against pouring the sauce over them and cooking another 20 minutes. Instead I just kept the meatballs in the oven until done; for my oven it was about 35 min. SAUCE was way too salty with 1 tablespoon. I changed the recipe by using one can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of boiling water. Because it was still too salty I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of water... the 3/4 cup of sour cream was too much as well... the sauce tasted like salty and hot sour cream. I gradually added more water. (The sour cream makes it super thick -- not to my liking) I added another 1/2 cup of water after the sour cream... and chopped a couple handfuls of fresh parsley--no stems--and it really livened it up. It went from bleh to wonderful!!!!! My husband was begging for the recipe. Next time I will skip the salt altogether until the very end and only use the sour cream sparingly, maybe 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I didn't use the sauce, but the consistency of the meatball is great. I agree with the other reviewers that there is too much salt. I will make them again, but omit the salt as the Worcester is plenty enough salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I did not care for this at all. I'd give it just one star, but out of fairness, it could be just personal taste, or a mistake in prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Allesi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
The meatballs are great as written. The sauce was great after the following changes: 1. Use butter instead of oil. 2. Cut out salt completely or only use a small amount, definitely not a whole tablespoon! 3. Use broth instead of water. 4. You MUST add the sauce to the meatball pan and bake/stir. This ensures that the meat drippings mix into the sauce. We will be making it again. My husband said they were better than Ikea's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States