The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This revue is for sauce only. I used rice flour because of the gluten. The paprika changed the color to an unappetizing orange color my kids were alarmed. Next time I will use white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is my fave Swedish meatball recipe ever!!!! Super easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I thought they were great. I left out the sour cream since I added a Can of Cream of Mushroom Soup and Beef Broth as some other folks that reviewed the recipe did. I added some fresh garlic to the meatballs. I followed the advice of someone else who rated the recipe by cooking my meatballs halfway and finishing them in the sauce which adds a little extra oil that you can skim because it rises to the top. I also added fresh mushrooms to the sauce and served over rice. Next time, I am going to try to use fresh parsley, the dried was a tad overwhelming for me because I don't normally use it. My family liked it and it's a new recipe we have added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
We tried so hard to fix the disgusting sauce and the only thing that worked was dumping it down the drain!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I wish I would have read the other reviews before diving into this recipe. The meatballs were OK so the three stars is for that. The sauce is terrible and I think it must be written wrong. It tasted like too thick salty flour. I followed the directions with the exception of adding a tablespoon of salt. That seemed too much and I used 1 teaspoon. Still it was too salty. Also I think it had too much pepper and paprika. So, I dumped half of the sauce down the drain and began adding more liquid to tone down the thickness, salt and other seasonings. I added a splash of Worcester and a quarter teaspoon of beef bouillon. It is now edible, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I am so disappointed in the sauce! I wish I had read the reviews instead of just looking at the star rating. It tastes like flour, isn't creamy and is the wrong color even! I made a lot expecting to make several dinners from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Everything was ok except for the sauce. There is definitely something missing. I followed it exactly but it tasted like flour. Not good. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I just made this and it turned out great. I read some of the reviews and made a few mods to the sauce. Used beef broth, and a can of cream of mushroom soup, also used smoked paprika instead of regular. So yummy. It's not very healthy, but I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Meatballs excellent but the sauce was awful. Added so many different ingredients that I can't begin to list them here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Way,way,way too much salt!!! Otherwise, it was a big hit.....will definately make again.....with less salt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States