The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This review is for the meatballs ONLY as I used a different sauce. The mix of ground beef and ground pork is perfect for these. They were very good. I used 1/4 c. of finely chopped onion vs. 1/2 c. and upped the bread crumbs to 1 cup. I used 2 tbsp. of milk, added some garlic powder and 1/4 tsp. of allspice. I baked these at 450 for 15 minutes. For the sauce I used "Basic White Sauce" from this site that I added dried parsley, garlic, worchestershire sauce, dried minced onion, salt, pepper, nutmeg, and a little sour cream. I served everything over egg noodles and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
add more water to gravy. Gravy was too thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I made a bigmistake while preparing the gravy: I picked up my nutmeg instead of my paprika. The sauce was still good, but I think it would have been great with the paprika! Loved the meatballs! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SukeyNY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was an amazing sauce recipe. I used pre-made meatballs and altered the recipe slightly by increasing to a cup of sour cream and about a half tablespoon of dried onion. I baked the frozen meatballs while I made the sauce, but because they were precooked, it only took the dish about twenty minutes total: ten to warm the meatballs, and a little over ten after smothering them in the sauce. We put ours over buttered egg noodles... similar to beef stroganoff, but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Golden Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I made this tonight for my fiancee and I and we both loved it. thanks so much. I was looking for something new to cook and this hit the spot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This wound up being a great recipe, but I made SIGNIFICANT changes to the sauce. I hate it when people review when they've made a lot of changes, but I think the sauce recipe, as written, must be a mistake. I wouldn't want anyone to take the time to make this to be disappointed with the outcome. when just a few changes made a fabulous sauce. I did make the meatballs with ground turkey (since that was all I had), and they turned out quite well - other than that, I made them as written. For the sauce, I used butter instead of oil, chicken stock instead of water (but use beef stock if you are using beef/pork for the meatballs) and just a bit of salt. I'm not afraid to use salt in my cooking, but a whole tablespoon here has to be a mistake. The sauce turned out so good, I made it again and served it with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I had a craving for a dish my mom made when I was young, meatballs with gravy and rice. I liked the meatball recipe but wanted brown gravy so skipped the sauce part of the recipe. I also used a whole onion (what can I say, I love onions!) and Italian bread crumbs. The meatballs were fabulous! I used a brown gravy packet and substituted half the water with the pan drippings and onions that fell off. Delicious! Everyone loved them and it was my first time making meatballs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Great meatballs. Didn't use any salt at all- used salt substitute. The sauce recipe looked wierd, and I didn't have any sour cream, so I just made a roux with flour from the oven pan drippings, and added some chicken stock. Kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I had never made Swedish Meatballs before but my husband told me how much he likes them. I made this recipe and "Amazing" they are. Easy to make, absolutely delicious. I'll be making this recipe for my family regularly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
The meatballs were very good. I used my own sauce which is not Swedish at all. Thin a can of cream of mushroom soup with your favorite barbecue sauce until it is the right consistency. No one can ever guess what ingredients are in the sauce. Thanks for the meatball recipe. I may even try it with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States