The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe was awesome, but waay too salty. Definitely going to to cut the salt in half for next time so it's more edible. I replaced the water with 2 cups of beef stock and added 8 oz of sour cream AND a can of cream of mushroom soup. It really would've been fantastic with less salt. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Cut the salt for the meatballs in half (from 2 tsp to 1 tsp), and we didn't care for the sauce for the meatballs until we added a packet of dry mushroom flavored gravy. Then it was delicious. Meatballs were a bit on the spicy side, and not very firm because of the addition of ground pork to the ground beef. I'll probably make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
meatballs were delish. After reading reviews about sauce I just added can of mushroom sauce, no flour 1/2 cup broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I agree with previous posters: the meatballs themselves were great, the sauce was a little bland. I replaced the parsley in the meatballs with fresh cilantro, and it provided a nice kick. I put about a tablespoon of instant coffee mix into the sauce with the paprika, salt, and pepper. Then, when adding the boiling water, I threw in two beef bouillon cubes. Used a full cup of sour cream instead of 3/4 of a cup, per the instructions. The drippings from the meatballs do the rest. Good cooking, everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
The meatballs are the best ever!! I doctored up the sauce from reading other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Very similar to the meatballs at Golden Coral. Probably needs some minor tweaking, but otherwise very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Meatballs were great but the sauce was very very BLAND. I had to fool with it to make it eatible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
while the sauce leaves a bit to be desired, the meatball itself is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
It was very bland. Really all the sauce is made up of is flour, water and sour cream. Will definitely have to make changes next time. Heres some suggestions: use chicken or beef stock instead of water add cream of mushroom soup to the sauce as well put worcestershire in sause as well as meatballs add garlic or onion powder Hope that helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Really good but a little to salty for my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smyrah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States