The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
We went to Ikea, a Swedish-based department store, and got Swedish meatballs at their restaurant. They were delicious and we wanted to find one exactly like it. This was the closest we've come. Made with 1 lb. ground pork, 1/2 lb. ground beef based to ingredients on hand. Cut the salt in sauce down to 1 teaspoon, and it was awesome!! Served with egg noodles and mashed potatoes. My mom claimed they were better than Ikea's!!!! Just made these for a second time, the RIGHT way, with 1 lb. ground beef and 1/2 lb. ground pork. Just as good, I could barely taste the difference! I also added a little more flour to the sauce to make it slightly thicker. Served to company and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Too Salty! I made the Swedish Meatball recipe last night. The meatballs were very tasty but the sauce was another story. It was very salty and 1T of salt should have been a red flag. I would make the meatballs again but not the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Good. I put to much pepper in the second time I made it but its good. I also added bell peppers the second time I made it (Seeking in some veggies for those that need them). If you reheat it put it and a couple table spoons of milk in a sauce pan and heat through. Add your egg noodles towards the end of heating. It will taste better then the first day you had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent meatballs - very good sauce. Very close to my Swedish grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have never tasted anything as bland as this recipe. I prepared it for dinner last night and was extremely disappointed as was my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made these last night for the first time and they were awesome! After reading many of the reviews, i opted to NOT make the sauce from this recipe. My sauce was 1 can cream mushroom soup w/garlic, 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can evaporated milk. After bringing to a boil i added this sauce to the meatballs for 20 min. The only altering i made to the recipe was a little less salt and i added 2 tablespoons of garlic powder. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Should have known better than to put that much salt in the sauce but did anyway. If you make this, DRASTICALLY reduce the salt, better yet, find a different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Just looking at the ingredients in the sauce left something to be desired, so I omitted some items and added some. I only used 1/2 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp pepper, instead of water I used beef stock and added a quick sprinkle of onion powder over the top of sauce while boiling. I poured the sauce over frozen meatballs (I work and thats just quick and easy)in my slow cooker then added sliced mushrooms. It turned out pretty good, the original recipe seemed bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Algonac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This is the best homemade Swedish meatball recipe i have ever used. Modified a little but great. I work at a restaurant and used this for a lunch special and it went off without a hitch. loved by all at the Greek restaurant I work in. THank you...After reading others reviews it seems many people were knocking the SAUCE...People if you cook your meatballs half way and then place them in the sauce to finish in the oven this sauce turns brown and has a true swedish flavor...remember a recipie is a base for your creation dont knock it till you have modded it... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trav79sara82

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Not a good sauce. I made a large batch for an anniversary party and it stayed in the pot. I followed the recipe to the letter except used less salt because of other reviews and it tasted like salty flour soup. Will not make this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States