The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very good meatballs! I suggest that the onions be chopped up very fine. I didn't make the sauce so this rating is for the meatballs only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I was looking for a fast meatball recipe and this recipe did not disappoint! They were flavourful and kept their moisture and I served them with pasta. On reading reviews regarding the salt content of the sauce - even though I didn't make it myself - I always air on the side of conservatism. Aside from baking (cakes breads etc) I always start with zero salt and add to taste from there. There is always sodium in added ingredients so I like to get a base before adding more. A tbsp of salt would have sent my alarms up immediately. LOL! Otherwise a great recipe and I will definitely file this in keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
THIS SAUCE IS SO TO SALTY. The meatballs are pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I ended up adding beef bouillon and Warcestershire sauce to compensate for the bland taste. it helped for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I only made the meatballs and today I am making them for the 2nd time. They are so yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This revue is for sauce only. I used rice flour because of the gluten. The paprika changed the color to an unappetizing orange color my kids were alarmed. Next time I will use white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is my fave Swedish meatball recipe ever!!!! Super easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I thought they were great. I left out the sour cream since I added a Can of Cream of Mushroom Soup and Beef Broth as some other folks that reviewed the recipe did. I added some fresh garlic to the meatballs. I followed the advice of someone else who rated the recipe by cooking my meatballs halfway and finishing them in the sauce which adds a little extra oil that you can skim because it rises to the top. I also added fresh mushrooms to the sauce and served over rice. Next time, I am going to try to use fresh parsley, the dried was a tad overwhelming for me because I don't normally use it. My family liked it and it's a new recipe we have added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I wish I would have read the other reviews before diving into this recipe. The meatballs were OK so the three stars is for that. The sauce is terrible and I think it must be written wrong. It tasted like too thick salty flour. I followed the directions with the exception of adding a tablespoon of salt. That seemed too much and I used 1 teaspoon. Still it was too salty. Also I think it had too much pepper and paprika. So, I dumped half of the sauce down the drain and began adding more liquid to tone down the thickness, salt and other seasonings. I added a splash of Worcester and a quarter teaspoon of beef bouillon. It is now edible, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States