The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
The meatballs were delicious and I will be making them again and again. The sauce on the other hand, was horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Theses meat ball were great. I did not make the sauce because I was preparing finger food. All I added was a bit of garlic and grated some nutmeg. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Carlson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This is my favourite recipe for swedish meatballs - I use less salt in the sauce but other than that they are perfect, and so easy! I sometimes use seasones pork sausages squeezed out of the wrappers because the generic ground pork from the grocery store always tastes too bland to me (in general, not in this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Llemon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This sauce was RIDICULOUSLY salty!!! I had to throw the whole first batch out. Thank goodness I was able to salvage the meatballs! I cooked it the second time with only a teaspoon of salt and it was actually quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
DO NOT USE THIS SAUCE!!!! Whomever loved this recipe, I'm willing to bet they have a psychological addiction to salt. The meatballs were okay, but still contained WAY too much salt. I should have known, when I was adding the amount of salt they told me to add, a red flag went up and I thought... this is more salt than I have ever added to any recipe of this amount of meat and/or sauce ingredients. Don't ask me how I knew, it was just WRONG. I have not re-tried this recipe without the salt, but I'm suggesting that if you really want to use this recipe, you may try using 1/4 the pepper, 1/4 the salt in both the sauce and the meatballs and then, MAYBE it will be okay. I would not reccomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
We used vegetarian meatballs and only made the sauce. I added garlic and mushrooms and it was a big hit with everyone forgot to add we left out the salt all together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
SAUCE REVIEW. This review is for the sauce only. I live in Sweden and needed a fast sauce to make with the meatballs that I had just made. I thought that I had a sauce pre-made, only to find out that I was wrong. Sheesh.... Anyway, I made this sauce, which looked strange to me, but, I was desperate. Well, I ended up making mashed potatoes and having the meatballs with slices of cucumber instead. A Swedish meat sauce should be brown like gravy, not creamy and definetly not like this one. And just another comment, the IKEA sauce for the swedish meatballs is actually very close to the made from scratch sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I loved the sauce. It is very simple to make and it tastes good. I went to Ikea and had their famous swedish meatballs, and I have to say I liked this sauce a lot more than theirs. I usually add a little bit of corn starch to make it a thicker gravy type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timberlinx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
this recipe was good. i also used the 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 c milk and 1 c sour cream. tasty. i added salt to taste instead of adding the whole 1 tbsp! i served mine over egg noodles. good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I bought frozen meatballs,used the sauce from this recipe and served over egg noodles. The sauce really hit the spot. My kids loved this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States