The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is my FAVORITE recipe! The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because of the changes I had to make. The sauce was tasteless until I made some change. Instead of vegetable oil, I used butter. Also, I use boiling beef or chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
It was good--but thankfully I read all the reviews before proceeding. The meatballs came out great but I decided against pouring the sauce over them and cooking another 20 minutes. Instead I just kept the meatballs in the oven until done; for my oven it was about 35 min. SAUCE was way too salty with 1 tablespoon. I changed the recipe by using one can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 cup of boiling water. Because it was still too salty I ended up adding another 1/2 cup of water... the 3/4 cup of sour cream was too much as well... the sauce tasted like salty and hot sour cream. I gradually added more water. (The sour cream makes it super thick -- not to my liking) I added another 1/2 cup of water after the sour cream... and chopped a couple handfuls of fresh parsley--no stems--and it really livened it up. It went from bleh to wonderful!!!!! My husband was begging for the recipe. Next time I will skip the salt altogether until the very end and only use the sour cream sparingly, maybe 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I didn't use the sauce, but the consistency of the meatball is great. I agree with the other reviewers that there is too much salt. I will make them again, but omit the salt as the Worcester is plenty enough salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I did not care for this at all. I'd give it just one star, but out of fairness, it could be just personal taste, or a mistake in prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
The meatballs are great as written. The sauce was great after the following changes: 1. Use butter instead of oil. 2. Cut out salt completely or only use a small amount, definitely not a whole tablespoon! 3. Use broth instead of water. 4. You MUST add the sauce to the meatball pan and bake/stir. This ensures that the meat drippings mix into the sauce. We will be making it again. My husband said they were better than Ikea's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
We went to Ikea, a Swedish-based department store, and got Swedish meatballs at their restaurant. They were delicious and we wanted to find one exactly like it. This was the closest we've come. Made with 1 lb. ground pork, 1/2 lb. ground beef based to ingredients on hand. Cut the salt in sauce down to 1 teaspoon, and it was awesome!! Served with egg noodles and mashed potatoes. My mom claimed they were better than Ikea's!!!! Just made these for a second time, the RIGHT way, with 1 lb. ground beef and 1/2 lb. ground pork. Just as good, I could barely taste the difference! I also added a little more flour to the sauce to make it slightly thicker. Served to company and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Too Salty! I made the Swedish Meatball recipe last night. The meatballs were very tasty but the sauce was another story. It was very salty and 1T of salt should have been a red flag. I would make the meatballs again but not the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Good. I put to much pepper in the second time I made it but its good. I also added bell peppers the second time I made it (Seeking in some veggies for those that need them). If you reheat it put it and a couple table spoons of milk in a sauce pan and heat through. Add your egg noodles towards the end of heating. It will taste better then the first day you had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Excellent meatballs - very good sauce. Very close to my Swedish grandmother's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I have never tasted anything as bland as this recipe. I prepared it for dinner last night and was extremely disappointed as was my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States