The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Very good meatballs! I suggest that the onions be chopped up very fine. I didn't make the sauce so this rating is for the meatballs only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I was looking for a fast meatball recipe and this recipe did not disappoint! They were flavourful and kept their moisture and I served them with pasta. On reading reviews regarding the salt content of the sauce - even though I didn't make it myself - I always air on the side of conservatism. Aside from baking (cakes breads etc) I always start with zero salt and add to taste from there. There is always sodium in added ingredients so I like to get a base before adding more. A tbsp of salt would have sent my alarms up immediately. LOL! Otherwise a great recipe and I will definitely file this in keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
THIS SAUCE IS SO TO SALTY. The meatballs are pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I ended up adding beef bouillon and Warcestershire sauce to compensate for the bland taste. it helped for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I only made the meatballs and today I am making them for the 2nd time. They are so yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This revue is for sauce only. I used rice flour because of the gluten. The paprika changed the color to an unappetizing orange color my kids were alarmed. Next time I will use white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This is my fave Swedish meatball recipe ever!!!! Super easy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I thought they were great. I left out the sour cream since I added a Can of Cream of Mushroom Soup and Beef Broth as some other folks that reviewed the recipe did. I added some fresh garlic to the meatballs. I followed the advice of someone else who rated the recipe by cooking my meatballs halfway and finishing them in the sauce which adds a little extra oil that you can skim because it rises to the top. I also added fresh mushrooms to the sauce and served over rice. Next time, I am going to try to use fresh parsley, the dried was a tad overwhelming for me because I don't normally use it. My family liked it and it's a new recipe we have added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I wish I would have read the other reviews before diving into this recipe. The meatballs were OK so the three stars is for that. The sauce is terrible and I think it must be written wrong. It tasted like too thick salty flour. I followed the directions with the exception of adding a tablespoon of salt. That seemed too much and I used 1 teaspoon. Still it was too salty. Also I think it had too much pepper and paprika. So, I dumped half of the sauce down the drain and began adding more liquid to tone down the thickness, salt and other seasonings. I added a splash of Worcester and a quarter teaspoon of beef bouillon. It is now edible, but I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States