The Absolute Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The name says it all...absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This really came close to my favorite potato soup at one of the local restaurants. I added real garlic, 1 tbls of sour cream, Emeril's Essence ( 4 BAMS) and a cup of shredded sharp cheddar. I think i just need a little dill to make it "spot on". Thanks for the start to the best potato soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
A good and very easy dish. I didn't have a carrot, so I ended up added more potato. I didn't have chicken broth so I used 2 bullion cubes with 6 cups of water, and it worked out just fine. Will make again if I have the ingredients at hand, which should be often since it's a no fuss dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohquirsty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup. I had leftover ham steaks and used that instead of deli ham. I also used homemade gravy mix (Sweettreats' recipe) but otherwise followed the recipe. I served this with homemade French bread for a delicious comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very good. Used 4 cans of sliced potatoes as suggested by another user. Also added 1 stick of butter melted and stirred with 6 T. of flour as suggested by another user to beef up the soupiness of it. It was easy and I liked it. My kids did not like the ham, but I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This a great recipe! It turned out great the first time (I've never been successful making soup from scratch before). You can also add 1 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 stick of butter to enhance the taste and texture. Additionally, use a smallish onion instead of a large one so onion flavor doesn't overpower the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
You are so right. This is the best potato soup I can remember having. And so easy. This receipe will be a permanent fixture of my receipe file. Will pass it on to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a perfect soup recipe for those of us who can't have wheat or dairy. I used some smoked paprika in place of the ham and it smells delicious! Will be eating it in about an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I only gave this a 4 because although it was very easy, it wasn't as thick as I like. So, to make it better and a little easier, I used 4 cans of diced potatoes and then made a roux with 1/2 cup butter and 6 T. flour cooked together, then added it to the soup. It made it as thick as I like it and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkabner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Just made this. So easy, had all the ingredients and tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States