The Absolute Best Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The name says it all...absolutely the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This really came close to my favorite potato soup at one of the local restaurants. I added real garlic, 1 tbls of sour cream, Emeril's Essence ( 4 BAMS) and a cup of shredded sharp cheddar. I think i just need a little dill to make it "spot on". Thanks for the start to the best potato soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
A good and very easy dish. I didn't have a carrot, so I ended up added more potato. I didn't have chicken broth so I used 2 bullion cubes with 6 cups of water, and it worked out just fine. Will make again if I have the ingredients at hand, which should be often since it's a no fuss dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohquirsty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup. I had leftover ham steaks and used that instead of deli ham. I also used homemade gravy mix (Sweettreats' recipe) but otherwise followed the recipe. I served this with homemade French bread for a delicious comfort food meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very good. Used 4 cans of sliced potatoes as suggested by another user. Also added 1 stick of butter melted and stirred with 6 T. of flour as suggested by another user to beef up the soupiness of it. It was easy and I liked it. My kids did not like the ham, but I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiina Dygert Hazelett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This a great recipe! It turned out great the first time (I've never been successful making soup from scratch before). You can also add 1 cup of heavy cream and 1/2 stick of butter to enhance the taste and texture. Additionally, use a smallish onion instead of a large one so onion flavor doesn't overpower the potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
You are so right. This is the best potato soup I can remember having. And so easy. This receipe will be a permanent fixture of my receipe file. Will pass it on to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This is a perfect soup recipe for those of us who can't have wheat or dairy. I used some smoked paprika in place of the ham and it smells delicious! Will be eating it in about an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I only gave this a 4 because although it was very easy, it wasn't as thick as I like. So, to make it better and a little easier, I used 4 cans of diced potatoes and then made a roux with 1/2 cup butter and 6 T. flour cooked together, then added it to the soup. It made it as thick as I like it and delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkabner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Just made this. So easy, had all the ingredients and tasted great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States