The Absolute Best Cookie Recipe Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made these cookies and they came out great. I used butter flavored crisco/shortening instead of just plain though. Another tip may be to refrigerate dough for an hour or over night to make it easier to handle. I was able to roll the dough out and use my cookie cutters without any problems. The cookies tasted great, but would be even better with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brazoria, Texas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These were the worst sugar cookies I have ever made. They looked great coming out of the oven but once cooled, they are dry, bland, and have absolutely no flavor. I would not serve these to my own worst enemy. Don't waste your time with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I really hate giving negative reviews but in this case I have to. This cookie is not good. It's almost like a flavorless sugar cookie that doesn't have enough sugar in it. I followed the instructions with the exception of sprinkling a little bit of sugar on the top for decoration. The dough is very sticky, I knew it would be a plain cookie and I didn't want to change it by using more flour, so I used a cookie scoop to portion it on the cookie sheet and then used the bottom of a lightly floured glass to flatten it. It's just really boring and the best thing I can say is that it makes a pretty cookie. Maybe better with frosting. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I really did not care for this recipe. The dough came out very, very sticky. Looking back, it probably needs refrigeration before rolling. However, I followed the earlier reviewer's advice and just rolled in more flour. As a result, the cookie came out rather bland and tasted a bit like pie crust....just a touch sweeter and puffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I think these may need more sugar. The looked ok, but the dough was ultra-sticky and it was very difficult to make them. I also used a pampered chef cookie press, and the dough was being really difficult, so I gave up and shaped them with cookie cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
my daughter wast that bothered with this one but i loved them. they taste even better with sugar sprinkled on top just before putting them in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
my kids only liked them when they were hot. when they got cold my kids would not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
My 6 year old daughter used this recipe, and her friends loved it. They turned out great! These cookies are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
the dough was too sticky for me to roll them out. i had to roll the dough into balls and flatten them on the baking sheet. i'd suggest refrigerating the dough. i didn't have time to. once baked, i thought they were dry. the overall cookie was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
A good basic cookie cutter cookie dough. I chilled the dough before rolling it out - it's much easier to manage and less sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States