That's-a Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
OMG this is the best meatloaf ive ever had. I told my husband that I was making meatloaf, he was grumpy about it until he tasted it and kept saying "this is good, this is sooo good" He even took the rest of it to work for lunch(it was half of the meatloaf!)lol. I made this as is, except i used honey ham, and provolone and it was GREAT. Loved it. I did top it with a ketchup and brown sugar glaze though, it was sooo wonderful and juicy, Oh and make sure you roll it out first on sprayed plastic wrap, it helps you guide the meat better. Also make sure you close the sides VERy well, so the cheese doesnt ooze out! loved it, NOW THATS A MEATLOAF~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes; have used it for years and everyone compliments me when I serve it. Just wanted to say that it is best to leave an inch around the edges of the meat and put the rectangle of hamburger on a larger sheet of foil and use it to roll the loaf into a cylinder. Be sure to press the ends together well to prevent cheese from oozing out, as well as the long seam. I usually bake in a broiler pan on the foil, punching some holes in the foil so the fat can drip down. Can melt mozzarella cheese wedges on top the last 5 minutes of baking time. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This was delicious! I made this recipe and substituted 1 lb. of ground turkey for 1 of the pounds of ground beef. Also, I used 1 lb. ground sirloin because it's a leaner cut. So, the resulting change was 1 lb. of ground turkey mixed with 1 lb. of ground sirloin instead of 2 lbs. of ground beef. I also cut the cooking time to 1 hour. If using turkey like I did, the cooking time could possibly be cut down to 50 to 55 minutes since the turkey cooks much faster than beef. Next time I make this, I might add a tomato based sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
In response to gabbysmom, if you cooked the meatloaf at 350F for 75 minutes, the ground beef probably wasn't raw. Most likely, the meat was pink from the nitrates (or nitrites) in the cooked ham tranfering to the hamburger. This has happened to me when I have made this recipe; but if you check a cross-section, I think you will find that the flavor and texture are fine. That is why ham is pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was the best meatloaf I have ever made. Hands down - and the only one I've actually loved. I did change out some of the ingredients only due to what I had on hand (1/2 turkey-1/2 spicy sausage, salami and pepperjack cheese) but this was one I would make again and again and again - and truly, I have never once said that about meatloaf. Thanks for the creative recipe, it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great starting point, but somewhat bland as is. As written, it should offend none. However, I used turkey in place of the beef (we're trying to limit red meats,) tripled the Parmesan and switched out the oregano for 1 Tb basil, the flavor of which we far prefer. Before rolling with the cheese and ham, I placed fresh basil leaves on top of the cheese, then rolled. Served atop a nest of fresh, home made linguine bathed in a fresh tomato-basil sauce, and passed more sauce to put over the meatloaf. Truly a memorable meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I definitely will make this again. I didn't put the ham in the middle, just the cheese. Also used 3/4 c. crushed Club crackers instead of the bread. The spices are great and when it's cooking it smells really good. Hubby is somewhat of a meatloaf officianado (as most men are :) and he said this was one of the best I've made (I've tried about 4-5 from this site in the search for the ever ellusive "best"). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMYSHORES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Munising, Michigan, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
WOW!!!! This is the best!!! It's cheap, easy, and SO GOOD! New favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is an excellent meatloaf! I make this all of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was a great meatloaf. However, I added a chopped onion for extra flavour and shaved Parmesan cheese. A real keeper for our cold Australian Winter (it is June)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States