That's-a Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
my husband and 2 year old loved it! followed the recipe exactly. spread meat mixture on foil to help with rolling into loaf. topped with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have been making this for over 35 years. I call it a Sicilian Meat roll. Got the recipe from a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ragland, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The idea of adding a filling to the meatloaf is great. I would also try a vegetable filling, like spinach and cheese.Advise for those of you who find this meafloaf bland: use your favorite recipe but apply the filling technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
my fav meatloaf recipe thus far! So good and makes for a nice presentation. Only change i made was to substitute ketchup for the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
UPDATE: MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT SUBBED JARRED MARINARA FOR TOMATO SAUCE. WOW! I ALSO USED HAM AND MOZZARELLA AS DIRECTED (DOUBLING THE CHEESE) AND AM GLAD I DID! FYI, THICK-SLICED HAM WORKS BEST... (I LIKE HORMEL DELI SLICED HAM). MY NEIGHBOR SAID THIS WAS THE BEST MEAL I'VE EVER MADE FOR HER. :) Meh. Despite using a garlic & herb flavored tomato sauce, Italian seasoned bread crumbs (all I had), I found this to be considerably bland. I'm not sure that ham and mozzarella would have been as flavorful as the Italian salami and provolone I substituted (1/4 lb. salami and 6 medium slices of provolone per Brat's suggestion - thanks!), but neither this change or using seasoned sauce and breadcrumbs seemed to help. To avoid a dry meatloaf, I brushed mine with what was left of my can of remaining tomato sauce (I purchased an 8 oz. can) and topped with aluminum foil. Now onto the positive. :) I found preparation to be a total BREEZE!!! I used one of my smaller cookie sheets, lined it with greased plastic wrap and then formed an 8x10 rectangle (my cookie sheet was approximately 9x12.5 in.; using it as a guide, I formed my meatloaf into a slightly smaller rectangle and then carefully rolled it up, pinching / sealing as I moved along). I ended up with a perfectly moist meatloaf and NO leakage! Mashed potatoes and frozen peas rounded out our filling meal. I'm not sure I'll be making this anytime soon, but will add a little more seasoning when I do. Thanks for sharing your recipe, DANA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This truly is a great tasting meatlof despite the fact that i omitted using ham and instead of ketchup i used chili sauce (my family likes it spicy).it turned out great and my family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Would be good without the ham and cheese also. Excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great recipe. We used 8 slices of prosciutto and 1 cup of Parmesan cheese rather than 1/4 cup, because I love Parmesan cheese. It had so much flavor, tasted so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Oregano was a little strong.Good, but different.It's just when you think meatloaf, you think ketchup on top.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A family favorite! I make just a listed and comes out great every time. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States