That's-a Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I have been making this for years now. I use swiss cheese and prosciutto. I use Italian style bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATVDUDE44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I always thought meatloaf was a little plain and boring, but this was amazing! I made it exactly as the recipe said, except I didn't have bread so I used ritz crackers and added some leftover onions from my fridge. I used someone's recommendation to roll using wax paper to guide, and that worked wonderful! My boyfriend loved it; he said he definitely wants it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
The name says it all! When I described the dish to my husband before preparing it, he said "Now that's what I call a meatloaf!". And, of course, he loved it! To me, it was a bit rich, a lot fat in one dish, but the flavor was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was so easy to make, came out perfect! My husband asked for seconds! I used Havarti cheese and honey maple ham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLSmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pleasantville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
the meatloaf was OKbe forwarned - the meat did not seem to cook through - the part just by the ham still had a raw taste & was a bit pink. I would not recommend this approach to meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delawrence
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
my husband and 2 year old loved it! followed the recipe exactly. spread meat mixture on foil to help with rolling into loaf. topped with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have been making this for over 35 years. I call it a Sicilian Meat roll. Got the recipe from a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ragland, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The idea of adding a filling to the meatloaf is great. I would also try a vegetable filling, like spinach and cheese.Advise for those of you who find this meafloaf bland: use your favorite recipe but apply the filling technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
my fav meatloaf recipe thus far! So good and makes for a nice presentation. Only change i made was to substitute ketchup for the tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
UPDATE: MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT SUBBED JARRED MARINARA FOR TOMATO SAUCE. WOW! I ALSO USED HAM AND MOZZARELLA AS DIRECTED (DOUBLING THE CHEESE) AND AM GLAD I DID! FYI, THICK-SLICED HAM WORKS BEST... (I LIKE HORMEL DELI SLICED HAM). MY NEIGHBOR SAID THIS WAS THE BEST MEAL I'VE EVER MADE FOR HER. :) Meh. Despite using a garlic & herb flavored tomato sauce, Italian seasoned bread crumbs (all I had), I found this to be considerably bland. I'm not sure that ham and mozzarella would have been as flavorful as the Italian salami and provolone I substituted (1/4 lb. salami and 6 medium slices of provolone per Brat's suggestion - thanks!), but neither this change or using seasoned sauce and breadcrumbs seemed to help. To avoid a dry meatloaf, I brushed mine with what was left of my can of remaining tomato sauce (I purchased an 8 oz. can) and topped with aluminum foil. Now onto the positive. :) I found preparation to be a total BREEZE!!! I used one of my smaller cookie sheets, lined it with greased plastic wrap and then formed an 8x10 rectangle (my cookie sheet was approximately 9x12.5 in.; using it as a guide, I formed my meatloaf into a slightly smaller rectangle and then carefully rolled it up, pinching / sealing as I moved along). I ended up with a perfectly moist meatloaf and NO leakage! Mashed potatoes and frozen peas rounded out our filling meal. I'm not sure I'll be making this anytime soon, but will add a little more seasoning when I do. Thanks for sharing your recipe, DANA! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States