Thanksgiving Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I crushed cookies in food processor. This is a sweet recipe, but the gingersnaps make it very flavorful. I also transferred into a baking dish, topped with mini marshmallows and stuck them under the broiler as other reviewers suggested, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made these on the stove top as directed, then placed in a casserole with the marshmallows on top and baked them. Everyone loved them. The Ginger Snaps really add a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This needs even more stars!!!!!! EVERYONE loved this dish!!! Easy and DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are AHHH-MAYY-ZINGG! So yummy and extremely easy. They only thing I needed to add was half and half since they were dry and needed more moisture to thicken up. Soooo good. I love that I didn't need to put in oven since everything else needed to go in the oven. However, next time I think I will put in oven for just a bit to brown the marshmallows since I did miss that taste of the marshmallows on it. Highly recommend! Couldn't stop eating them! Impressed how much fattier they could be but with the small amount of butter it was just right and didn't feel overly bad eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Dottie's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My new favorite Thanksgiving side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
very simple, very easy, very delicious. Thanks for the recipe misty1549.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
very good, very easy, you can crush the cookies in food processor it's soo much easier than using a glass or your hands, got many compliments this will be my yams recipe for holidays! Definitely put in a baking pan and top with marshmallows, then put under broiler for just a few minutes, watch close so they don't burn, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These yams were a big hit. There was no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was the EASIEST way to make sweet potatoes. It was quick as well. The gingersnap cookies were the perfect mix of spices as well as creating a nice base for the potatoes. I made these for my in-laws for Thanksgiving this year and they were a hit! I drained one can of the sweet potatoes and used the juice from the other (otherwise it seemed too thick). VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Simple recipe that I will make again. The marshmellows really need to be broiled though to add to the flavor. Would make a great pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States