Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a really good recipe. I used fresh potatoes instead of canned for a change and it turned out great. I brought it to Thanksgiving last year for my in-laws and my mother-in-law just informed me that I'm bringing it again. Even the people who said they didn't like sweet potatoes tried it and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving to take to a family member's house. Three other people ended up taking their own, and mine was the BEST one! I drained the potatoes, and added a little of the liquid after baking, before broiling. I didn't sprinkle them with marshmallows, but covered the entire top (I'm still a kid and love sweets). Everyone was asking what I did differently, why was theirs all mushy, and mine PERFECT! I was asked to make them for Christmas. This is the perfect, and quick way to make Sweet Potato Casserole. I made this on Thanksgiving day before going to the party, it is that quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
I selected this recipe because I needed to make sweet potatoes for the "Fall Feast" at our daycare on a Tuesday at 6:30. I chose it specifically because the potatoes were canned and there were no nuts (day care). I DID drain the potatoes, and I think it's absolutely necessary, since you add orange juice. The texture was pleasing (not all whipped up and soufle-like) and the kids AND adults enjoyed it. Very sweet (they ARE sweet potatoes) and I think I might decrease the marshmallows next time. Really, really worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
These are good enough to pass for a dessert. I too, was unsure if I should drain the yams, but I did. Good choice otherwise it likely would have been soupy. The OJ is a such a nice touch - I lightly mashed the yams and let them marinate a half hour to better absorb the flavor, if you're concerned about presentation just lightly score the yams. Next time I may try apricot nectar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Taste just like Grandma use to make! I made this lastnight, with a pork roast and green beans, turned out so good. I used fresh sweet potatos, baked them for 45 on 350, peeled the skin, then diced. I did everything else the same. My whole family loved it, including my six year old son who hates everything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My husband loved these and he doesn't even like sweet potatoes! I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Wasn't sure if the sweet potatoes had to be drained, but I included the liquid. It was different and good. I probably would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These were very good. The only thing that I might change next time is cut the butter in half. There seemed to be quite a bit of it laying in the bottom of my casserole dish. Other than that...perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I had never made or eaten a sweet potato dish before but nobody would have ever known that. This was the hit of our Thanksgiving dinner this year of about 25 family members and friends. They all talked about the others they have eaten that weren't nearly as good. It felt great! I did only add the juice of 1 of the cans of sweet potatoes. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I used real potatoes instead of canned ones. Although this recipe was good it tasted more like a desert to us than a potato side dish. It was very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States