Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Easy to prepare but just didn't taste the way we like. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Very good recipe if you like an almost cookie like topping on your sweet potatoes. However, I substituted fresh sweet potatoes for canned and added a stick of butter as well as the organge juice to the freshly microwaved sweet potatoes while mashing them and added 1 1/2 cups pecans to the topping. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
A great traditional way to prepare sweet potatoes. Wouldn't be Thanksgiving without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was good, not great. The orange juice flavor didn't really stand out at all. The crumbly topping below the marshmallows was too thick for my liking. I think I would opt for leaving out the flour altogether and just sprinkling the sweet potatoes with brown sugar & cinnamon and maybe some orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This recipe was a HIT at my family's Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone had something good to say about it. I HATE sweet potatoes and even I loved this dish!! Mine was the only dish that was totally eaten, with NONE left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I give 5 starts.......i made with fresh sweet potaoes not can.......and i used light brown sugar and sugar.......and i covered entire pan with marshmallows......It was a hit at early thanksgving dinner.....Who pan cleaned out.......Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
EXCELLENT!! I did it as directed, but used 1/4 brown and 1/4 white sugar, and used butter not margarine. Then on top of that I sprinkled toasted chopped pecans that I toasted on top of the stove, in a few TBS butter and 2 TBS of brown sugar to carmalize it. Baked it for 30-40 min and then added the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I can honestly say that this was the worst sweet potatoes I have ever made, this uses a LOT of flour and I was not impressed with the end result, will definitely not be making this again. I "might" substitute with orange juice in the future with other recipes though, interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I cut down on the liquid by using one of the two cans; you can adjust by using more or less of the flour/cinnamon mixture. (without liquid, it would be too dry) I cut down on the sugar based on others feedback -- and used half white and half brown sugar (vs. all white). My son loved the marshmallows! Go all aboard on them... and please the kid inside you! It is sweet and complimentary to the meal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!! Ive been looking for this recipe for years... my sister in law used to make this on Thanksgiving and it was always one of my faves as a child. Shes long since passed on and every Thanksgiving I find myself missing one thing...her Thanksgiving Sweet Potatos...and here they are!!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States