Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Perfect sweet potatoes! Definitely do not drain the potatoes. I used an 8X8 pan, and I needed 3 15oz cans of sweet potatoes (and half again as much of the other ingredients, too.) Also be prepared when cutting in the butter that there is about as much butter as there is dry ingredients, and it turns into a very soft wet paste instead of a dry coarse texture like with pastry. It turns ot perfect, but it surprised me when I was making it and I was worried I had done something wrong. Nope - it turned out just great! I'll make it every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Awesome-turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My husband and I are not huge fans of sweet potato casserole, but we are in love with this recipe. I made it two weeks ago for a FCC Thanksgiving party and it was a hit with the kids. I plan on making it again tomorrow for Thanksgiving with all of our friends. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macks Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
We had my first Thanksgiving at my house early this weekend and my hubby asked for sweet potatoes and My hubby LOVED these!! He said they were better than his mother's.. this was the first time that I had made sweet potatoes and I was so proud of myself... I did leave out the oj because I forgot it at the grocery store in my hurriedness... So i drained the sweet potatoes into a bowl and then measured out the same amount in the syrup from the canned sweet potatoes.. thank you so much for this recipe!!!! This is our new thanksgiving recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I used this recipe for the my first attempt at sweet potatoes. And they turned out perfectly. I am not a fan of sweet potatoes, but my family loves them. I thought they were the best and will make them again next Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
My family loves this recipe. I have made it twice, so far. I made it the first time as is, and I thought it was too sweet. The second time I made it I used 2 tbs of brown sugar and 2 tbs of white sugar. This was much better. Thank You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SimplyCortney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Taste just like Grandma use to make! I made this lastnight, with a pork roast and green beans, turned out so good. I used fresh sweet potatos, baked them for 45 on 350, peeled the skin, then diced. I did everything else the same. My whole family loved it, including my six year old son who hates everything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
My family really liked these potatoes. They are a good change. I will make these again, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The consistency was lacking. Good concept, but maybe with fresh sweet potatoes, some butter, and a few more additions would have been better. No one ate more than 1 bite. Sorry. Update: Made with cooked and coarsely mashed fresh sweet potatoes. So much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Wow, this was better than I expected! I made it just as the recipe called for (drained the potatoes). Next time I'll cut them into bite-size pieces and cut down on the sugar and marshmallows. It was a bit sweeter than we prefer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States