Thanksgiving Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This came out yummy but next time I will omit some of the flour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is an awesome recipe! Every holiday my family requests it....My hubby said it has an apple pie taste to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes but these are really good! I didn't change a thing, I used canned, and my brother brought over his sweet potatoes for thanksgiving too he made and they were real, and mine tasted much better! So save some time and used the canned ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mat Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
next time I will omit the orange juice. It was too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMBrsl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Easy, nice texture. Broiling the marshmallows at the end worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very easy and very good. Everyone loved it. In all the chaos of Thanksgiving day I'm not sure if I did something wrong or not but, the topping (brown sugar) seemed a little dry and sort of out of place on the top. It didn't interfere with the taste and I did burn the marshmellows a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Substituted sweetner instead of sugar. Made them okay.. not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli-TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I like the baked sweet potatoes topped with marshmallows at this steak restaurant we go to, so I wanted to find something similar on a bigger scale for Thanksgiving. This recipe was what I was looking for. I used fresh potatoes--I've never cooked with sweet potatoes before so this was different. I used this new "brownulated" brown sugar instead of regular brown sugar--bad idea. I ended up not serving this with the meal because the potatoes were still not done. The next day I added more orange juice (maybe 1-1.5 Cups) and covered with foil and baked for another hour and a half--after all of THAT, the potatoes were done! The "brownulated" sugar was still grainy and the marshmallows melted in and disappeared but overall, it is a wonderful recipe that I hope to try again and hopefully it'll come out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was just a little too sweet for our tastes. I probably won't make it again, unless I decrease the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this recipe for my family and my father in law. It was easy enough and pretty quick to whip together. I had to substitute some items but it still turned out pretty good. They seemed to like it (I don't like sweet potatoes myself.) My husband said the sweet potatoes could have been a little more "mushy" but my father in law had two helpings. He liked the topping and couldn't quite put his finger on what was in there - that always makes a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States