Thanksgiving Stuffed Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Thanksgiving stuffed pumpkin... I thought that it was very nice. After I tried this there wasnt any room for Turkey it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
cook this one longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought the recipie was a little confusing. It did not state whether the pumpkin was done in an hour and where you suppose to eat it. I thought the suffing was great, the pumpkin was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Great Recipe. Truly enjoyed it and will make it again. Thanks and again It is a great recipe and I have recommended it to many friends, Vegan and non Vegan alike, all of them have loved it! I do suggest Cooking it longer if you would like to eat the pumpkin as well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This does give an excellent presentation. The size pumpkin wasn't mentioned and the amount listed for ingredients was way too much for a medium sized pumpkin. I will use this again but cut the recipe in half, if using as a side. I agree with other reviewers in that if the pumpkin is going to be eaten, it must be cooked at least another 1/2 hour. I put foil on before putting it in the oven and placed it in a pie pan and added a little water to the pan. I also put the top back on the pumpkin before putting it in the oven. Nothing was mentioned in the original recipe as to what to do with the top. I also used cornbread stuffing mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Sorry for the confusing directions! I usually use a 12" diameter pumpkin. I mark the pumpkin about 6 or 7 inches from the bottom up. (Use a ruler and make small marks with a pen as you circle the pumpkin, measuring from the bottom up.) Cut along your dotted line and discard the top. It is best to wrap the whole pumpkin in aluminum foil during baking to prevent browning, but remove the foil from the top for the last 15 minutes to allow the casserole to brown a little. Cooking time varies a little so I can't be more specific, but 1 1/2 hours is about right. I like to scoop out a little of the cooked pumpkin with each serving but that's up to you! Now that my children are grown, I don't use the pumpkin anymore - I just use a 9x13 pan, make 2 layers, and bake at 350 for 25 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poreef
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
A fantastic idea! We had vegetarians as our guests for thanksgiving this year and i was at a loss as to what to make. This recipe was easy and delicious! And looks just as impressive as a turkey. I cooked the top separately and served it whole. You are on your own with cook time especially depending on the size of your pumpkin and whether you want to eat the flesh as well, but just allow plenty of time as it will be a lot more than a hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was great. Great presentation, and my non-vegetarian husband loved it as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Our family thoroughly enjoyed this dish. The presentation is fun and the taste is so savory. We substituted light ranch for the mayonnaise which seemed to work well. I would make this dish again for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I make this every year except I just use my regular vegetarian stuffing recipe and stuff the pumpkin and bake it. I always vary it a little every year since it is very versatile and always comes out yummy. Even my non-vegetarian family members love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States