Thanksgiving Stuffed Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I'm confised, are you supposed to make the stuffing first before layering it, or do you pour the stuffing mix right into the pumpkin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I make this every year except I just use my regular vegetarian stuffing recipe and stuff the pumpkin and bake it. I always vary it a little every year since it is very versatile and always comes out yummy. Even my non-vegetarian family members love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Our family thoroughly enjoyed this dish. The presentation is fun and the taste is so savory. We substituted light ranch for the mayonnaise which seemed to work well. I would make this dish again for future dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was great. Great presentation, and my non-vegetarian husband loved it as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by poreef
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
A fantastic idea! We had vegetarians as our guests for thanksgiving this year and i was at a loss as to what to make. This recipe was easy and delicious! And looks just as impressive as a turkey. I cooked the top separately and served it whole. You are on your own with cook time especially depending on the size of your pumpkin and whether you want to eat the flesh as well, but just allow plenty of time as it will be a lot more than a hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Sorry for the confusing directions! I usually use a 12" diameter pumpkin. I mark the pumpkin about 6 or 7 inches from the bottom up. (Use a ruler and make small marks with a pen as you circle the pumpkin, measuring from the bottom up.) Cut along your dotted line and discard the top. It is best to wrap the whole pumpkin in aluminum foil during baking to prevent browning, but remove the foil from the top for the last 15 minutes to allow the casserole to brown a little. Cooking time varies a little so I can't be more specific, but 1 1/2 hours is about right. I like to scoop out a little of the cooked pumpkin with each serving but that's up to you! Now that my children are grown, I don't use the pumpkin anymore - I just use a 9x13 pan, make 2 layers, and bake at 350 for 25 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered. I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I'm changing my rating on this recipe after trying it for three years. I'm throwing it out. It does give an excellent presentation. The first year--looked elegant-pumpkin wasn't cooked through--noone ate it but me. Second year--pumpkin cooked through bc I cooked it for awhile first, took it out and stuffed it. It isn't worth the effort unless you are a vegetarian as everyone at my table are meat eaters and they love the stuffing in the bird and noone touched this but me as I wanted to sample it. It also takes up the entire oven so again for a vegetarian who isn't having a bird and and several other sides, this may work. I used a roaster for my turker but I still would prefer other sides to this. It does give an excellent presentation on the table; however, I'll stick to the turkey as my main table decoration in the future. The proportions were way off and the size pumpkin wasn't mentioned so the amount listed for ingredients was way off. If I'm going to pay for a pumpkin, I want to be able to eat it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Great Recipe. Truly enjoyed it and will make it again. Thanks and again It is a great recipe and I have recommended it to many friends, Vegan and non Vegan alike, all of them have loved it! I do suggest Cooking it longer if you would like to eat the pumpkin as well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I thought the recipie was a little confusing. It did not state whether the pumpkin was done in an hour and where you suppose to eat it. I thought the suffing was great, the pumpkin was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
cook this one longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States