Thanksgiving No-Turkey Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
The flavor combinations in this recipe are top notch. There was a bit too much bread involved, however. Don't kid yourself, this recipe is a decadent low nutrient/ high carb/high fat dish that is perfect for indulging. I think I will add extra veggies like parsnips, sweet potato and cabbage so I can eat it more often without too much guilt. Ps, chickpea gravy is a breeze to make, don't even bother with those tiny packets at the store: sautee onion and garlic, add chickpea flour (by it at the Indian store to save a few bucks), add water and a bit of soy sauce for color. I made an entire sauce pan full and just slathered my food in gravy. Mmmm, so good yet so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Yes!!! This was such a good meal for my Thanksgiving table. My sister and I were the only vegetarians, so I halved the recipe- it was so wonderful! I only did a couple minor things differently. Real butter, of course. Real eggs. I didn't sit the bread out to dry all night. I just set it in the oven for a bit to dry it out. It worked perfectly and allowed me to prepare everything the-day-of. And I bought an organic roll-out croissant dough as opposed to the puff pastry. This made it sooo good. This meal came out so tasty, I was so proud of myself. And I whipped it all together the morning of thanksgiving with no troubles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pret.White
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was a huge hit with vegetarians and meat eaters alike! I purchased shredded seitan by mistake, but it worked out well and I will do it the same way next year. I used a 9 X 13 pan with a layer of chicken style shredded seitan chunks with garbanzo bean gravy, a layer of stuffing, another layer of seitan and gravy, then topped it with the puff pastry. When it was done it was easy to cut and serve in pieces (much like a casserole). I think the texture of the shredded seitan is easier to deal with for meat eaters, as it is a bit like the texture of actual Turkey. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Dry and tasteless. I really don't know how this this could be better. I read other's reviews but felt like this missed the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
We aren't vegetarians or vegans but we're looking to expand our palates by eating healthier. This was very delicious and was a healthier bow to the typical Thanksgiving main course. Hints & suggestions - Puff pastry at my local market comes frozen. Plan ahead - place it in the fridge 24 hrs. before you need it (I did not try the "quick thaw" method so I cannot tell you if this dries it out. It was just more convenient for me to put in the fridge 24 hrs. before I needed it). I'd also suggest using only 1, maybe 1 1/2 loaves at the most of the multi-grain bread and at least 1 more 16 oz pkg. of seitan. For our taste, it was simply too much stuffing and not enough seitan. Plan ahead and use your food processor - place the bread in the processor and lay out on a jelly roll pan overnight. Then, place it in a storage bag until you're ready for it. I omitted the margarine and put the carrots, celery, onion, and parsley together in the processor, then dumped it in an XL (read: very large) bowl with the bread and omitted cooking the veggies entirely. Also, for the egg replacer, 5 1/2 tsp. is *almost* 2 Tbsp (1.8 Tbsp. to be exact). I purchased 2 dried vegan gravy mixes at my local natural foods store (I could not find garbanzo bean gravy mix); next time, I'll make sure I'll have 4 envelopes, agreeing with a previous reviewer that gravy is the key. Serve with a big bowl veggies and it's a wonderfully healthy and complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
very yummy. shared with strict carnivores and even they complimented the taste, wasn't sure of the texture but they loved the taste and tolerated the texture of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
That is a wonderful recipe, thank you. The seitan gives it a nice consistency, unlike the custard like quality of tofu "turkey". I usually make the seitan myself from scratch (with plain flour) and cook it in chicken-flavoured vegan broth to give it the required taste. I'm having a dinner party next week and can't wait to surprise my vegan,vegetarian,and meat eating friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This recipe, from a 1995 Vegetarian Times magazine, is a favorite of ours. We now use Quorn Roast instead of the seitan, and have played around with the gravy. Gravy is key...make plenty of it for the side too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Turkey Tetrazzini

This simple dish features leftover turkey in a creamy noodle casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States