Thanksgiving Leftover Wontons with Cranberry Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
to the previous reviewer, the 2 recipes are the same in that they are both "thanksgiving leftover" recipes that both use thanksgiving leftovers lol. did you even make the recipe before you reviewed it??? not good for the community! i made this and it was amazing. can't wait to make them again next year, or maybe after christmas if we have the leftover ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
the turkey part is not bad....the sauce is the key. It sounds odd and comes out awesome. I made a couple minor changes...I wanted more filling and less fried stuff so I made mine as eggrolls instead of wontons. In the salsa I tossed the whole (de ribbed/de seeded) jalepeno in and I did not drain the lemon juice off of the cranberries...I heated em up and they absorbed all of it as my quick plumper upper method.Added: these were such a hit the family wanted them again....but I was out of cranberries and only had dried cherries on hand/tried using them. Dried cherries worked well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I brought these to my monthly ladies night. The ladies were hesitant to try it since it sounds so weird, but after they did, they couldn't stop eating them. One lady even suggested to her sister that this is what they should have for Thanksgiving dinner. I made recipe pretty much as is. 1/2 the recipe for the Cranberry Salsa seemed to be more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This was such a great way to enjoy leftovers and have a unique and beautiful presentation. I had large sized wrappers so rolled them up as egg rolls and deep fried in oil for 3 minutes. They were amazing. And the cranberry sauce was an improvisation since I used jalepeno jelly instead of onion, garlic & jalapenos but it was absolutely amazing. I brought leftovers to work and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I needed a festive recipe for an upcoming Christmas pot luck we are attending - something different. I saw this recipe on here and thought it sounded interesting. OMG!!! What a terrific discovery it is! It does take a little time, but the result is well worth it. I plan to make a double or triple batch and freeze them for ease in future entertaining. The salsa is very tasty and suits the wontons extremely well. A great accompaniment. I believe that the salsa would be even better if made a day ahead so the flavours have a good chance to marry together. Also, the next time I make these, I plan to spray the waxed paper with cooking spray so they don't stick before I fry them. I cooked them in my electric non-stick wok and this worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe was quite good, I will definitely make them again. A couple tips though, chop up all your ingredients to small pieces so the flavors all blend nicely in each wonton. The same goes for chopping up the dried cranberries in the salsa. Also, if you have the forethought, let the salsa sit for a day, and it will really blend the flavors together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was a fantastic and different idea for my leftover turkey! Served up to rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Not bad. Different. But I don't think I'd do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made these 2 days after Thanksgiving and they were fantastic! We skipped the salsa because neither my husband or myself are huge cranberry fans. While we were eating the won tons we agreed that if we had made the salsa they probably would have been even better, if that is possible. You don't need to cook anything ahead of time, just take it out of the fridge into a bowl, mix, stuff, fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States