Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was awesome! I used all the leftover PREPARED stuffing I had, which was at least half a bag. I layered it wrong--stuffing first, turkey with sauce and then the potatoes with cheese sprinkled on top. It was divine! I read the review on the blandness, so before I added the flour I added 1/4 chopped onion, 2 cloves chopped garlic, and a chopped celery stalk. THEN added 2 more tablespoons of butter and the flour. It was SOO good! I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Picky girl gave it a go ahead to make again. ;) I didn't have any evaporated milk & didn't feel like running out (well hey, it's snowing & even though I have 4 wheel drive....I just didn't feel like it) ANYWAY, I ended up using heavy cream & the sauce was delicious! I also used 1/2 bag of mixed veges. I agree with DREGINEK, no advertising...just pure enjoyment. Thanks Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
How refreshing! A casserole without cream soups in it! This is an excellent recipe for using all those leftovers. Its quick, easy and delicious. Perhaps a little on the bland side for our personal taste,but a teaspoon of sage, 1/2t thyme and a little crushed rosemary took care of that. We had a large turkey breast in our freezer that I wanted to use up and this was a perfect way to do it. I tripled the turkey and used a full box of stove top stuffing on top. Yum! Thanks Sharon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I was looking for a way to use up my leftovers from Thanksgiving - this was perfect. Although I don't like to stray from following a recipe before I try it, I did (a little). I followed the recipe accordingly, but I also added a 15 oz. can of mixed vegetables over the turkey, and instead of the stuffing mix (I didn't have any), I crumbled up about 10 "buttery" crackers (Sociables) over the mashed potatoes, then drizzled the melted butter over that. This was heavenly. My kids aren't big turkey eaters, but they (as well as myself and husband) had seconds and thirds on this. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Not to sound like an advertisement for this recipe but if you need to use up your leftover turkey/mashed potatoes, this is the way to do it!! Great and easy meal!! I used 1/2 tsp of the dry spices and a little more dry stuffing than called for but we all loved this!! Who would have thought leftovers taste this good? Thanks sharon!! I'll make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
Excellent!! Even got a compliment on that from my picky husband! I just used a smaller dish (8x11), more turkey (about 2cups) and cheese (we like it cheesy), and I also added some herbs and more pepper to the whole thing. I also didn't have stuffing mix, so I too used crackers with a little butter on top, and it was absolutely perfect! I must admit, the two of us polished off the whole casserole, not one crumb left. This will definitely become a regular now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This one is definitely a keeper. Made this after Thanksgiving and it was such a hit with everyone begging for more I made it again the next night and 2 nights after that. The kids can't get enough of it and my wife loves them too. I didn't change anything in the recipe and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This was a great recipe to get rid of extra mashed potatoes and turkey but the reason it got 3 stars is the taste. It wasn't very flavorful. Don't get me wrong, it was ok and the family liked it but I would add more spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was awesome! I made a few adjustments to mine, though. First, I added some broccoli to it and then I added 3 different types of cheese (cheddar, monterey jack, and parmesan) Our family loves cheese! I also used instant potatoes instead of real ones. It still tasted just as good. And since I had no stuffing in the house, I used cracker crumbs instead. Next time, I would like to try it with the stuffing, though. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I made some adjustments to this recipe to fit what I had on hand. I substituted four-cheese blend for the cheddar and used instant roasted garlic mashed potatoes. It was excellent. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States